Stoke Mandeville

"According to the Census Report the area of this parish is 1460 acres. Its rateable value is £1994. Population 478. The soil is chiefly a stiff clay upon a marl or blue clay sub-soil. The Village is nearly a mile in length, and contains several genteel residences (occupied chiefly by farmers,) and a number of humble cottages. One of the houses is rendered conspicuous on account of an ancient yew tree in front of it, which is cut and kept neatly trimmed in a fantastic manner. Stoke Mandeville is 3 miles S.E. of Aylesbury. This place and Buckland were formerly Chapelries to Bierton Church, but in 1858 they were separated, and made an independent parish." [History and Topography of Buckinghamshire, by James Joseph Sheahan, 1862]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Dictionary of English Place-Names", A.D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1997, ISBN 0 19 28131 3
"History and Topography of Buckinghamshire", Sheahan, James Joseph, 1862
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred part two - Town and Environs, Volume 8", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Stoke Mandeville have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred part two - Town and Environs, Volume 8", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 91 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £8.15.2 of which sum Edmund Brudnell esq contributed £2.10.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 83 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Stoke Mandeville.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 248 inhabitants in 78 families living in 74 houses recorded in Stoke Mandeville.

Census Year Population of Stoke Mandeville
1801* 248
1811* 341
1821* 402
1831* 461
1841 493
1851 538
1861 477
1871 528
1881 497
1891 480
1901 411

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Mary the Virgin, Stoke Mandeville have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1699 - 1874
Marriages 1699 - 1837
Banns 1783 - 1877
Burials 1699 - 1906

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1605 - 1840
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1605 - 1840
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Banns
1786 - 1840
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1605 - 1840
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Stoke Mandeville showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Stoke Mandeville,
Particular Baptist
76 - Morning General Congregation
28 - Morning Sunday Scholars

107 - Afternoon General Congregation
26 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars

79 - Evening General Congregation

Stoke Mandeville,
Primitive Methodist
25 - Morning General Congregation

24 - Evening General Congregation

Stoke Mandeville,
Wesleyan Methodist Chapel
13 - Morning Sunday Scholars
13 - Morning Total

70 - Afternoon General Congregation
14 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
84 - Afternoon Total

75 - Evening General Congregation
75 - Evening Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Stoke Mandeville which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Stoke Mandeville to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Stoke Mandeville has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Stoke Mandeville was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

STOKE-MANDEVILLE, in the hundred of Aylesbury and deanery of Wendover, lies about three miles and a half south of Aylesbury, near the road to Amersham. This manor, which was formerly in the Zouches, and of late years in the Clarkes of Ardington, in Berkshire; was purchased, about the year 1790, of William Wiseman Clarke esq. by Mr. Charles Lucas, of Aylesbury, the present proprietor.

The manor of Oldbury belonged, in the reign of King Richard the Second, to Sir William Moton; both this manor and that of Newbury in this parish, were soon afterwards in the Brudenells, collateral ancestors of the Earl of Cardigan, who had a seat at Stoke-Mandeville. In the chapel, (which is parochial although dependant on Bierton as the mother church), is a tablet in memory of some children of Edmund Brudenell esq. who died in the reign of Queen Elizabeth. The manors of Oldbury and Newbury are not now known.

The rectorial estate is held by Christ's-Hospital under the dean and chapter of Lincoln. The parish has been inclosed by an act of parliament passed in 1797: when an allotment of land was given in lieu of the great tithes, and a corn-rent assigned to the vicar of Bierton.

Prestwood lies in an insulated part of the parish of Stoke-Mandeville, among the woods between Hampden and Missenden. Southward of the avenue leading to Hampden house, was the land for which 20s. ship money was assessed on Mr. Hampden, whose resistance of this assessment occasioned the celebrated trial on that subject. Mr. Oldham's manor of Overbury extends into this part of the parish.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The first part of the name Stoke Mandeville derives from the old english word stoc, and means 'outlying farmstead or hamlet'. The second part, 'Mandeville', derives from the family of that name which held the manor in the 13th century.