Tingewick

"This parish covers nearly 2178 acres, of which 1215 are pasture, 530 arable, and 181 woods and plantations. The soil is principally gravelly loam with the subsoil various. The general level of the land is well over 300 ft. above the ordnance datum, and reaches 392 ft. on the borders of Oxfordshire. The land falls towards the north and east, where it is liable to floods from the River Ouse and its tributaries. The village lies along the road from Buckingham to Deddington (Oxon.) and is of a fair size, the irregularly built houses standing on both sides of the High Street. several of the houses in the village are of the 17th century, and have thatched roofs..." [© copyright of the editors of The Victoria Histories of the Counties of England]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Buckingham Hundred, Volume 7", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

topup

Census

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 133 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Tingewick.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 642 inhabitants in 139 families living in 133 houses recorded in Tingewick.

Census Year Population of Tingewick
1801* 642
1811* 711
1821* 832
1831* 866
1841 911
1851 877
1861 914
1871 945
1881 787
1891 714
1901 635

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tingewick area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Mary Magdalen, Tingewick have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1560 - 1910
Marriages 1560 - 1995
Burials 1560 - 1893

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1813 - 1841
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1754 - 1802
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Tingewick showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Tingewick,
St Mary Magdale
150 - Morning General Congregation
130 - Morning Sunday Scholars
280 - Morning Total

190 - Afternoon General Congregation
140 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
330 - Afternoon Total

Tingewick,
Wesleyan Methodist Chapel
40 - Afternoon General Congregation

80 - Evening General Congregation

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Tingewick which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Tingewick to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Tingewick has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Tingewick was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

TINGEWICK, in the hundred and deanery of Buckingham, lies two miles and a half west of Buckingham, on the road to Banbury. It had formerly a weekly market on Tuesdays, granted in 1246, to the abbey De Monte Rothomago, in Normandy, to which monastery the manor had been given by the family of Finmore, in 1210: it was purchased of the abbey, by William of Wickham, and by him made part of the endowment of New College, in Oxford.

In the parish church is a curious brass plate against the east wall of the chancel, with a half-length portrait of Erasmus Williams, rector of Tingewick, who died in 1608, neatly engraved. He is represented with uplifted hands, in the attitude of prayer, and habited in a gown. On each side of him is a pillar, on which hang astronomical, musical, and geometrical instruments, painting utensils, various books, &c. On the top of one of the pillars is a globe, on the other an owl. There are various other devices, as a sun and rainbow, &c. and several texts of scripture. Underneath is the following epitaph :

 

"This doth Erasmus Williams represent,
"Whom living all did love, dead all lament;
"His humane Arts behind his back attend,
"Whereon spare hours he wisely chose to spend;
"And from Corinthian columns deck'd with arts,
"Now to the Temple's pillar he converts,
"Under the rainbow arch of promise, where
"Of hoped bliss no deluge he need fear:
"He of this church did a firm pillar live,
"To whom dead his wife doth these pillars give.
"Continued by his scholar and his friend,
"Who wsth'd their love and lives had had one end,
"Erasmus More's Encomium set forth,
"We want a More to praise Erasmus' worth."

At the corner is the name of R. Haydocke, who, if he wrote the epitaph, was a much better artist than poet. That he was the artist there can be little doubt, and that it was Dr. Richard Haydocke, the physician, who was a contemporary of Mr. Williams: he translated Lomatius on painting and engraving, and engraved his own portrait and other plates for that work.

The warden and scholars of New College are patrons of the rectory, to which a manor is annexed. The advowson belonged formerly to the priory of Harmondsworth, in Middlesex. The parish has been inclosed by an act of parliament, passed in 1773, when an allotment of land was assigned to the rector in lieu of tithes, and a small allotment to the poor in lieu of their right to cut furze.

Francis Edmonds, the late rector, who died in 1759, founded a charity school for six boys and six girls, and left an endowment for instructing and clothing them.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name of Tingewick derives from old english, being a persons name + ing + wick, and means 'Dairy farm of the people of Tida'.