Towersey

"This parish lies in the detached portion of Ashendon hundred, situated in the hundred of Aylesbury. Its area is 1200 acres, of the rateable value of £1685; and the population now numbers 449 souls. The parish is bounded on the south and west by Oxfordshire. The Village is small, and stands 2 miles E. of Thame. The line of railway now being formed, from Thame to Wycombe, passes through this place. Towersey was included with Kingsey, under the common appellation of Eye." [History and Topography of Buckinghamshire, by James Joseph Sheahan, 1862]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"History and Topography of Buckinghamshire", Sheahan, James Joseph, 1862
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred part three - Risboroughs, Missendens and their environs, Volume 9", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Towersey have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred part three - Risboroughs, Missendens and their environs, Volume 9", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 19 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £2.6.0 of which sum Richard Hunt contributed £0.10.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 72 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Towersey.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 294 inhabitants in 69 families living in 51 houses recorded in Towersey.

Census Year Population of Towersey
1801* 294
1811* 325
1821* 367
1831* 403
1841 413
1851 448
1861 449
1871 434
1881 342
1891 349
1901 305

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Towersey area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Catherine, Towersey have been deposited in the Oxfordshire Record Office in Oxford.

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1581 - 1886
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1592 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1592 - 1951
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Towersey showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Towersey,
St Catherine
No service held

Average Attendance for previous 12 months:

30 - Morning General Congregation
50 - Morning Sunday Scholars
80 - Morning Total

140 - Afternoon General Congregation
50 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
190 - Afternoon Total

Towersey,
Baptist Chapel
100 - Morning General Congregation
50 - Morning Sunday Scholars

80 - Afternoon General Congregation

120 - Evening General Congregation

Towersey,
Primitive Methodist
50 - Afternoon General Congregation

50 - Evening General Congregation

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Towersey which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Towersey to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Towersey has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Towersey was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

TOWERSEY, in the hundred of Ashendon, about two miles east of Thame, in Oxfordshire, lies within the county of Buckingham, but is a hamlet belonging to that town: it has a chapel of ease. The manor has been for some years the property of George Bowden esq. it was before in Lord Wentworth's family.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name of Towersey derives from from the Tours family who held it in the 13th century, and the old english word of eg meaning 'island'. Hence the name means 'Tours'-island'.