Walton

"This is a small parish of 757 acres, of the rateable value of £1032. The number of its inhabitants is about 90. It is watered by the Lovat. The Village, situated about 2 miles N.N.E. from Fenny Stratford, and 3 1/2 miles S. from Newport Pagnell, is small, but remarkably pretty. It contains two farm-houses of a superior class, and a few neat cottages. The place is famous for the growth of walnuts, of which there are many hundreds of trees in a flourishing condition. Walton is not named in Domesday, and Willis supposes it to have been originally part of Bow Brickhill, or perhaps partly of Milton Keynes; and that it received its name from its being walled or fenced about, on the erection of the church, about the year 1189, when St. Hugh was Bishop of Lincoln. He arrives at this conclusion, or rather conjecture, from the fact that there were here originally two manors, held by two different families during many ages; and the church was in two medietes divided between two Rectors or Incumbents." [History and Topography of Buckinghamshire, by James Joseph Sheahan, 1862]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Dictionary of English Place-Names", A.D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1997, ISBN 0 19 28131 3
"History and Topography of Buckinghamshire", Sheahan, James Joseph, 1862
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Milton Keynes & Wolverton area, Volume 6", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Walton have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Milton Keynes & Wolverton area, Volume 6", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 51 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £3.14.3 of which sum Thomas Gilpin contributed £1.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 19 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Walton.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 79 inhabitants in 12 families living in 12 houses recorded in Walton.

Census Year Population of Walton
1801* 79
1811* 97
1821* 102
1831* 114
1841 103
1851 95
1861 95
1871 105
1881 112
1891 93
1901 84

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Walton area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Michael, Walton have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1598 - 1974
Marriages 1635 - 1973
Burials 1598 - 1978

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1598 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1598 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Burials
1598 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Walton showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Walton,
St Michael 
38 - Morning General Congregation
17 - Morning Sunday Scholars
55 - Morning Total
topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Walton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Walton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Walton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Walton was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

WALTON, in the hundred and deanery of Newport, lies about three miles to the north of Fenny-Stratford. There were anciently two manors in this parish, one of which was, about the year 1200, in the family of Rixband, afterwards in the Hunts, from whom it passed by marriage to the Longuevilles. It was purchased of the latter by Bartholomew Beale, whose son Charles was husband of Mrs. Beale the painter. About the latter end of the seventeenth century Sir Thomas Pinfold bought this manor either immediately of the Beales, or of some persons who had not long before purchased it of them. It is now the property of Charles Pinfold esq. of Ayot St. Lawrence, in the county of Herts. The other manor was anciently in the family of Grey, and came to the crown in exchange in the year 1520. In 1627, it was granted to Williams and others, of whom it was soon afterwards purchased by Mr. Beale, since which time the two manors have been united.

In the parish church is the monument of Bartholomew Beale, lord of the manor, who died in 1660, put up in 1672, by his sons Charles and Henry, at the expence of 45 l. as appears by an extract from Mrs. Beale's pocket book, printed in Lord Orford's anecdotes of painting, where by a mistake this monument is said to be at Walton upon Thames, in Surrey. The medallions of Mr. Beale and his wife, in bas relief, are placed in circular niches, and do credit to the artist, Thomas Burman, of whom little is known, but that he was the master of Bushnell, who attained much greater celebrity as a statuary. In this church is the monument also of Sir Thomas Pinfold, chancellor of the diocese of Peterborough, and commissary of St. Paul's, who died in 1701, with his medallion, by Nollekens, and an epitaph of Elizabeth Pixe, who died in 1617, which reminds us of Bishop Lowth's celebrated epitaph on his daughter :

 

"Elizabetha vale, mea Lux, mea vita, quousque
Jungitur in coelis, filia chara vale."

The rectory is in the alternate presentation of the crown, and of Mr. Pinfold, as lord of the manor.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name of Walton possibly derives from the old english words w(e)ald or w(e)all + tun, and means 'farmstead in a forest or with a wall '.