Weston Turville

(including the hamlet of Bedgrove)

"According to the Census Return the parish of Weston Turville (West-town) contains 2450 acres. Population, 724. Its rateable value is £2914. The soil consists of various loams. The parish was inclosed by an Act of Parliament in 1798, and is about six miles in compass. It includes four manors. The Village, which is scattered, lies in a hollow, and is well wooded and watered. It is distant from Wendover 2 miles N., from Aylesbury, 3 miles E., and from Tring, 5 miles W. The women and children are employed in plaiting straw. The Aylesbury breed of ducks are reared here in great numbers, for the London market. The Grand Junction Canal Company have a reservoir in this locality covering nearly 70 acres. The greater part of this feeder of the canal is in Weston Turville parish." [History and Topography of Buckinghamshire, by James Joseph Sheahan, 1862]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"History and Topography of Buckinghamshire", Sheahan, James Joseph, 1862
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred - part 1, Volume 3", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

topup

Census

In 1642 there were the following numbers of people were named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland.

  • Weston Turville - 20 people, assessed for a total of £4.11.4 of which sum Mr Vintner contributed £1.0.0
  • Weston Turville with Lee - 25 people, assessed for a total of £3.7.10 of which sum Mr Henry Harris and Mr William Plaistow each contributed £0.10.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 119 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Weston Turville.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 497 inhabitants in 109 families living in 72 houses recorded in Weston Turville.

Census Year Population of Weston Turville
1801* 497
1811* 524
1821* 611
1831* 637
1841 718
1851 748
1861 724
1871 812
1881 824
1891 791
1901 720

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Weston Turville area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Mary the Virgin, Weston Turville have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1538 - 1980
Marriages 1566 - 1976
Banns 1754 - 1980
Burials 1566 - 1915

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Marriages
1754 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Weston Turville showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Weston Turville,
St Mary the Virgin
110 - Morning General Congregation
59 - Morning Sunday Scholars
169 - Morning Total

155 - Afternoon General Congregation
79 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
234 - Afternoon Total

Weston Turville,
Baptist and Independent
United Chapel
38 - Morning General Congregation
9 - Morning Sunday Scholars
47 - Morning Total

12 - Afternoon Sunday School
12 - Afternoon Total

112 - Evening General Congregation
112 - Evening Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Weston Turville which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Weston Turville to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Weston Turville has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Weston Turville was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

WESTON-TURVILLE, in the hundred of Aylesbury and deanery of Wendover, lies about three miles and a half to the south-east of Aylesbury, between the roads to Tring and Wendover. It derived its distinguishing name from a family who possessed the manor in the reign of king John. The king is now Lord Paramount in right of the duchy of Lancaster, and there at least three subordinate manors in this parish. One of these was in the Mowbrays, afterwards in the Penns, and is now by female descent the property of Lord Curzon.

Another manor belongs to the mercers company, to whom it was given by Dr. John Colet, Dean of St. Paul's, in trust for charitable purposes.

The manors of Botelers and Molins have been long united. The former belonged to the Botelers, who gave name to it, and passed from them to the Talbots Earls of Shrewsbury. Molins was the property of Sir John Molins, who had the king's licence to embattle his house at Turville in 1331. From him it passed by inheritance to the families of Hungerford and Hastings. Both these manors belonged to the Windsor family in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, and afterwards for many years to the Hills. They are now the property of Mrs. Tomkins, whose husband's family became possessed of them about the middle of the last century. The manor of Broughton-Stavely, alias Broughton-Holland, lately belonging to Sir John Pakington, and now by a recent purchase to the Marquis of Buckingham, extends over a part of this parish. The rectory is in the gift of the warden and scholars of All Souls College in Oxford, who purchased the advowson of the Hills about the year 1704. The parish of Weston-Turville has beeen inclosed by an act of parliament passed in 1798, when an allotment of land was assigned to the rector in lieu of tithes.

Bedgrove is a hamlet of this parish.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

  • Weston Turville - The name of Weston derives from the old english west + tun, and means 'west farmstead or village'. The affix of Turville derives from a family of that name who held land here in the reign of Stephen.
  • Bedgrove - it is thought that the first part of the name refers to a persons name, but it is unclear what this name actually was. Bedgrove therefore means 'a grove belonging to this person'.