Weston Underwood

"The area of this parish is 1300 acres, according to the Census Returns, but by local estimation is 1846 acres. Population, about 400 souls. Rateable value, £2620. The soil is clay and loam with a subsoil of gravel and sand. "It is, as its name expresses, a woody track," says Dr. Lipscomb, "and is situated northward of the river Ouse, adjacent to Whittlebury Forest, in Northamptonshire." The Village, which is small and lies 1 1/2 mile W.S.W. from Olney, is beautifully situated on high land which has a park-like appearance." [History and Topography of Buckinghamshire, by James Joseph Sheahan, 1862]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"History and Topography of Buckinghamshire", Sheahan, James Joseph, 1862
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Newport Hundred, Volume 1", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

  • War memorials in Weston Underwood have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: Newport Hundred, Volume 1", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • War memorial details are also available online on the Roll of Honour web site.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 22 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £4.17.2 of which sum Mr Throckmorton contributed £2.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 84 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Weston Underwood.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 357 inhabitants in 97 families living in 70 houses recorded in Weston Underwood.

Census Year Population of Weston Underwood
1801* 357
1811* 339
1821* 420
1831* 441
1841 438
1851 405
1861 398
1871 430
1881 352
1891 325
1901 275

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Weston Underwood area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Laurence, Weston Underwood have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1681-1952
Marriages 1681-1837
Burials 1681-1931

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Weston Underwood showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Weston Underwood,
St Laurence
77 - Evening General Congregation
37 - Evening Sunday Scholars
114 - Evening Total
Weston Underwood,
St Lawrence Roman Catholic
105 - Morning General Congregation
30 - Morning Sunday Scholars

101 - Afternoon General Congregation
30 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars

Weston Underwood,
Union Chapel
No service on 30 March 1851

Average attendance:

30 - Evening

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Weston Underwood which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Weston Underwood to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Weston Underwood has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Weston Underwood was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

WESTON-UNDERWOOD, in the hundred and deanery of Newport, lies about two miles west of Olney. The manor was anciently in the family of Boson, or Bosun, from whom it passed by female heirs to the Olneys and Throckmortons. It is now the property and seat of George, a younger brother of Sir John Throckmorton bart., who has taken the name of Courtenay.

In the parish church, which was formerly a chapel of ease to Olney, are a few memorials of the Throckmortons. Mr. Courtenay is improprietor of the great tithes, and patron of the curacy.

Cowper the poet resided for several years, during the latter part of his life, at this village, in a house now inhabitated by a shopkeeper. Most of his descriptions of rural scenery were drawn from nature in his walks round this place.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name of Weston derives from the old english west + tun, and means 'west farmstead or village'. The affix of Underwood probably refers to its position in relation to Yardley Chase.