Worminghall

(including the hamlet of Thomley)

"WORMINGHALL, or WORMENHALL, commonly pronounced WORNALL, with THOMLEY. This parish is bounded on the north by Oakley, on the east by Ickford, (from which it is separated by a brook running from North-east to South-south-west, in a very irregular course to the Thame) on the south by part of Oxfordshire, and on the west by its hamlet of Thomley, which is within that county, and is situated in a low marshy track often liable to inundation. Worminghall, exclusive of Thomley, contains about 980 acres, of which about 430 are said to be in tillage, and 30 acres woodland. In 1598, "Wornall was assessed to the Provision money for beeves and muttons for the Queen's Household," at 1l. 4s. 9d. Expences of maintaining the poor in 1776, amounted to 18l. 2s.; in 1783, 48l.; in 1784, 35l. 3s. 4d.; in 1785, 65l.; in 1822, 237l. 13s.; in 1823, 190l. 1s.; in 1824, 183l. 6s. In 1722, the number of inhabitants was 259, comprised in forty-five families. In 1821, the inhabitants had increased only to 314, according to the returns." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Ashendon Hundred, Volume 5", Peter Quick and Bertrand Shrimpton.

topup

Cemeteries

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 47 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £1.9.9 of which sum Simon Ellis vicar contributed £0.10.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 62 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Worminghall.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 266 inhabitants in 61 families living in 36 houses recorded in Worminghall.

Census Year Population of Worminghall
1801* 266
1811* 254
1821* 314
1831* 297
1841 314
1851 360
1861 354
1871 341
1881 303
1891 269
1901 247

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Worminghall area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Peter & St Paul, Worminghall have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1538 - 1887
Marriages 1538 - 1836
Banns 1754 - 1929
Burials 1538 - 1968

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Marriages
1538 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Worminghall showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Worminghall,
St Peter & St Paul
56 - Morning General Congregation
32 - Morning Sunday Scholars
88 - Morning Total

103 - Afternoon General Congregation
30 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
133 - Afternoon Total

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Worminghall which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Worminghall to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Worminghall has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Worminghall was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

WORMENHALL, in the hundred of ashendon and deanery of Waddesdon, lies on the borders of Oxfordshire, about five miles north-west of Thame. It had formerly a market on Thursdays, granted in 1304, together with a fair on the festival of St. Peter and St. Paul, to John de Rivers, who it is probable was at that time lord of the manor: at a later period it was in the Ingletons, from whom it passed by a female heir to the Tyrells. In 1720 the manor of Wormenhall was bought by Edward Rudge esq. of the Tipping family, who had succeeded the Tyrrells in the year 1560: it is now the property of Edward Horne esq. of the Leasowes, having been purchased of the Rudges by his father, Samuel Horne esq. about the year 1772.

Sir Clement Cottrell Dormer has for several years given a deputation for the free warren of Wormenhall

In the parish church are some memorials of the family of King; John King, Bishop of London, and Henry King, Bishop of Chichester, a learned writer and a poet, were both of this family, and natives of Wormenhall. John King esq. son of the bishop of Chichester, founded an alms-house at this place in 1675, for four poor women and six poor single men, who receive eight shillings and four-pence each monthly, from the donation of the founder.

Thumley, a hamlet of this parish, is in Oxfordshire.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

It is thought that the name of Worminghall derives from old english, being a persons name + halh, and means 'nook of land of a man called Wyrma'.