Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Boxworth

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Boxworth

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2013

"BOXWORTH, a parish in the hundred of Papworth, in the county of Cambridge, 8 miles to the north-west of Cambridge, and 3 south of Swavesey railway station. Caxton is its post town. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of Ely, value £459, in the patronage of G. Thornhill, Esq. The church is dedicated to St. Peter, and contains a monument to Dr. Nicholas Saunderson, the blind mathematician, and professor at Cambridge University, who died here in 1759. There are some charities of small value, and a village school, supported by subscription, instituted in 1839. The soil is stiff clay, with a blue gault subsoil."

[Transcribed and edited information from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868]

Cemeteries

Census

Churches

Church History

  • "The church of St Peter is an ancient edifice of flint and stone in the Decorated style, consisting of chancel, nave of four bays, south aisle, north and south porches and a lofty embattled tower containing a clock and one bell: in the church is a monument to Nicholas Saunderson LL.D., F.R.S. the celebrated blind professor of mathematics in the University of Cambridge, who died 19th April, 1759: the church was thoroughly restored in 1868-9, and affords 150 sittings. The register from the year 1558." [Kelly's Directory - 1929]
  • There is further information and photographs of the Church on Ben and Mark's Cambridgeshire Churches website.

Church Records

  • Church of England
    • Boxworth, St. Peter: The parish registers for baptisms 1588-1892, marriages 1589-1986, burials 1588-1812 and banns 1754-1814, 1839-60, 1875-1948 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. Index transcripts of baptisms 1588-1812, marriages 1588-1836 and burials 1588-1875 are available in the Cambridgeshire Archives.. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1686 and 1704-1863 can be found in the Cambridge University Library.
You can see pictures of Boxworth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Boxworth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Boxworth to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL347642 (Lat/Lon: 52.259443, -0.027813), Boxworth which are provided by:

Military History

  • The Boxworth War Memorial has been transcribed and and the men researched. Inside St Peter's Church there is a framed Roll of Honour showing the names of 40 men who "joined his majesty's forces from Boxworth 1914 - 1919". There is one D.S.O. (Major Douglas Kirke Smith), one M.C. Edmund Basil Thornhill and one M.M. (Harry Dodson). The 6 men who did not come back are annotated individually. In addition there is a brass plaque in the church commemorating the six casualties. The memorial features a Union Jack crossed with the flag of St George. Finally, there is a WW2 plaque in the church "In affectionate remembrance of the men of Boxworth who gave their lives 1939 - 1945".

Taxation

  • Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives for the years 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32 and 1880-1948.