GENUKI Home page

Up Cambridgeshire Contents Contents Nearby PlacesNearby Places NeighboursNearby churches



BOXWORTH

"BOXWORTH is a parish about 4 miles south-west from Swavesey station on the St. Ives and Cambridge branch of the London and North Eastern railway, 8 north-west from Cambridge and 9½ south-east from Huntingdon, in the hundred of Papworth, petty sessions division of Cambridge, union of St. Ives, county court district of Huntingdon, rural deanery of Bourn and archdeaconry and diocese of Ely."

"The soil is of a stiff clayey nature, with a blue gault subsoil, beneath which in many places is found a hard chalky rock. The area is 2,602 acres; the population in 1921 was 243."
[Kelly's Directory - 1929]

Cemeteries

The Monumental Inscriptions for the churchyard of St. Peter 1653-1980 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. These are available, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Census

The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridge Record Office. In addition the 1851 Census for Boxworth is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Church History

"The church of St Peter is an ancient edifice of flint and stone in the Decorated style, consisting of chancel, nave of four bays, south aisle, north and south porches and a lofty embattled tower containing a clock and one bell: in the church is a monument to Nicholas Saunderson LL.D., F.R.S. the celebrated blind professor of mathematics in the University of Cambridge, who died 19th April, 1759: the church was thoroughly restored in 1868-9, and affords 150 sittings. The register from the year 1558."
[Kelly's Directory - 1929]

Church Records

Church of England

Boxworth, St. Peter: The parish registers for baptisms 1588-1892, marriages 1589-1986, burials 1588-1812 and banns 1754-1814, 1839-60, 1875-1948 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. Index transcripts of baptisms 1588-1812, marriages 1588-1836 and burials 1588-1875 are available in the Cambridge Record Office.. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1686 and 1704-1863 can be found in the Cambridge University Library.

Description and Travel

There is a Genweb Cambridgeshire description of Boxworth St Peter.

Military History

The Boxworth War Memorial has been transcribed and and the men researched. Inside St Peter's Church there is a framed Roll of Honour showing the names of 40 men who "joined his majesty's forces from Boxworth 1914 - 1919". There is one D.S.O. (Major Douglas Kirke Smith), one M.C. Edmund Basil Thornhill and one M.M. (Harry Dodson). The 6 men who did not come back are annotated individually. In addition there is a brass plaque in the church commemorating the six casualties. The memorial features a Union Jack crossed with the flag of St George. Finally, there is a WW2 plaque in the church "In affectionate remembrance of the men of Boxworth who gave their lives 1939 - 1945".

Taxation

Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridge Record Office for the years 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32 and 1880-1948.


Find help, report problems, and contribute information.


[Last updated 20 March 2003 Martin Edwards]