GENUKI Home page

Up Cambridgeshire Contents Contents Nearby PlacesNearby Places NeighboursNearby churches



BURROUGH GREEN

"BURROUGH GREEN (or Borough Green) is village and parish 2½ miles south-east from Dullingham station on the Cambridge and Bury branch of the London and North Eastern railway and 6 south from Newmarket, in the hundred of Radfield, Newmarket union, petty sessional division and county court district, rural deanery of Cheveley, archdeaconry and diocese of Ely. "

"The Reading Room here was built in 1887 by the late Mrs Porcher, as a memorial to her husband, Charles Porcher esq.; it is in general use during the winter months, and will hold about 130 persons. The Old Hall (or Manor House), which stands near the church, is now a farmhouse. The soil is various; subsoil, clay and chalk. The chief crops are wheat, barley and roots. The area of the parish is 2,272 acres; the population in 1921 was 334."
[Kelly's Directory - 1929]

Cemeteries

The Monumental Inscriptions for the churchyard of St. Augustine 1778-1984 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. These are available, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Census

The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridge Record Office. In addition the 1851 Census for Burrough Green is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Church History

"The church of St. Augustine is an ancient structure of flint with stone dressings, in the Early English and Decorated styles, consisting of chancel, aisles, south porch and a western tower containing 5 bells, restored in 1710: in the north wall of the chancel are three richly ornamented arched recesses, one of which encloses the recumbent effigy of a knight armour with crossed legs; the next has also a male effigy with a female figure resting beside it; and the third encloses the effigy of a Norman knight, with another of a squire or attendant at the foot, unarmoured; another figure, female, has been removed to the west end of the church; the whole are mutilated and without dates or names, but are presumed to be the De Burgh family: the font is dated 1672, but the most ancient portions of the church probably date from the 13th century: the building was restored and the roof renewed in i878-90 at a coat of £725, and the organ restored in 1903 at a cost of £140: the church affords 200 sittings. The register dates from the year 1571."
[Kelly's Directory - 1929]

Church Records

Church of England

Burrough Green, St. Augustine: The parish registers for baptisms 1571-2003, marriages 1587-1988, burials 1571-1948 and banns 1755-1999 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. Index transcripts of baptisms 1571-1840, marriages 1587-1637, 1653-1836 and burials 1571-1840 are available in the Cambridge Record Office. The indexed transcripts 1571-1840 of the registers are available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1872 can be found in the Cambridge University Library.

Methodist

Wesleyan Methodist Church: Records exist at the Cambridge Record Office for the Mildenhall Wesleyan Circuit of which Burrough Green is part.

Military History

The Burrough Green War Memorial has been transcribed and and the men researched, it is inside the Church.

Taxation

Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridge Record Office for the years 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32, 1878-88 and 1931-1948.


Find help, report problems, and contribute information.


[Last updated 26 March 2004 Martin Edwards]