GENUKI Home page

Up Cambridge Contents Contents



CAMBRIDGE ST BOTOLPH

Cemeteries

Monumental inscriptions in the churchyard for the years 1609-1857 reside in the Cambridge Record Office.

Census

The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridge Record Office. In addition the 1851 Census for Cambridge is available in indexed form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Church History

"St. Botolph's church, which stands on the east side of Trumpington street, is an ancient building, originally Norman, but now chiefly in the Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch and an embattled western tower, supported by massive angle buttresses and surmounted at the angles by four figures of lions, each holding a vane, and containing a clock and 4 bells: over the altar is a painting of " The Crucifixion," presented by Mr. John Smith, formerly University printer, who brought it from Antwerp: the east window was filled with stained glass in 1886, at the expense of the Rev. W. M. Campion D.D. late rector (1862-92), and late president of Queens' College, and there is a memorial window to Dr. Parkinson (d. 1890), erected by his widow: in the church is a monument, with half effigy, to Dr. Thomas Playfere, Margaret Professor of Divinity in the 16th century, d. 1609; and one to James Essex F.S.A. the architect, d.14 Sept. 1784: the church was restored during the period 1874-87, at a cost of £1,020, and affords 300 sittings. The register dates from the year 1584. The living is a rectory, net yearly value £190, in the gift of Queens' College, and held since 1892 by the Rev. Claude Hermann Walter Johns M.A. of that college."
[Kelly's Directory - 1900]

Church Records

Church of England

Cambridge St Botolph: Records of baptisms 1564-1853, marriages 1564-1837, burials 1564-1862, and banns 1754-1898 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1692, 1702, 1712-1847 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. Indexed transcripts exist in the Cambridge Record Office for baptisms 1564-1863, marriages 1564-1851, and burials 1564-1862. A further transcription exists for marriages at Queens' College chapel 1723-53. The parish registers 1564-1852 are available on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Taxation

Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridge Record Office for the years 1798 on microfilm, 1829-32, 1857-91 and 1916-1948.


Find help, report problems, and contribute information.


[Last updated 16 February 2000 Martin Edwards]