GENUKI Home page

Up Cambridgeshire Contents Contents Nearby PlacesNearby Places NeighboursNearby churches



CHILDERLEY

"CHILDERLY is a parish, 6½ miles north-east from the Old North Road station on the Bedford and Cambridge branch of the London, Midland and Scottish railway and about 6 from Swavesey station on the London and North Eastern railway, 9 north-west from Cambridge and 13 north-east from St. Neots, in hundred and union of Chesterton, petty sessional division and county court district of Cambridge, rural deanery of Bourn and archdeaconry and diocese of Ely."

"The soil is strong clay; subsoil, yellow clay. The chief crops are wheat, oats and barley. The area is 1,072 acres; the population in 1921 was 24."
[Kellys Directory of Cambridgeshire 1929]

Census

The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridge Record Office. In addition the 1851 Census for Childerley is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Church History

"There were originally two churches here, one of which was dedicated to St. Mary; both were destroyed and the village depopulated by Sir John Cutte bart. of Childerley, about the beginning of the 16th century, for the purpose of forming a deer park. Divine service is conducted in the chapel attached to Childerley Hall."
[Kelly's Directory of Cambridgeshire - 1929]

Church Records

Church of England

Formerly two parishes; both churches were destroyed and the parish depopulated about 1500; parish register entries are normally in Boxworth parish registers but some entries are in the Knapwell registers, 1701-8.

Description and Travel

"Childerley Hall, the property and residence of Francis Benjamin Brooke esq. is a mansion in the Elizabethan style, and was rebuilt upon the foundation of the manor house, the old seat of the Cutts family: to this house Charles I. was brought in 1647 by the messengers of Cromwell, after his seizure at Holdenby Hall, in Northamptonshire; the ancient and elaborately painted and wainscoted room which he occupied, now called by his name, is carefully preserved, and the paintings in it have been restored. The farm buildings on the estate are most extensive, and include a barn 333 feet in length."
[Kelly's Directory of Cambridgeshire - 1929]

Military History

The Childerley Hinton War Memorial has been transcribed and and the men researched.

Taxation

Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridge Record Office for the years 1798 (on microfilm), 1830-32 and 1880-1948.


Find help, report problems, and contribute information.


[Last updated 20 March 2003 Martin Edwards]