Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Coton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Coton

COTON

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2013

"COTON, a parish in the hundred of Wetherley, in the county of Cambridge, 2 miles west of Cambridge, and 3½ from the Cambridge station on the Great Eastern railway. It is a small agricultural village. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of Ely, value £213 in the patronage of Catherine Hall, Cambridge. The church, dedicated to St. Peter, stands in the centre of the village. It is in the early English style of architecture, the chancel being Norman. The church consists of nave, aisles, tower with spires and two porches. It contains the tomb of Downes, who translated the Apocrypha. The charities amount to £37 per annum. Here has recently been built a National school for boys and girls. The provost and Fellows of King's College are lords of a manor in this parish, but the Master and Fellows of St. Catherine's College are lords paramount."

[Transcribed and edited information from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868]

Cemeteries

Census

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Coton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • "The church of St. Peter, which stands in the centre of the village, is a small building of stone and flint, chiefly in the Decorated and Perpendicular styles, and consists of chan-cel, nave, aisles, north and south porches and a Per-pendicular embattled western tower, carried on arches and finished with pinnacles and spire; it contains 3 bells: the font, of Norman work, consists of a square basin on a circular stem: the church was restored in 1880, and affords 150 sittings. The register dates from the year 1538."
  • "There is a Baptist chapel here with 120 sittings."
    [Kellys Directory of Cambridgeshire 1929]

Church Records

  • Church of England
    • Coton, St. Peter: Records of baptisms 1538-1890, marriages 1542-1989, burials 1539-1992 and banns 1755-1977 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1859 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. Indexed transcripts exist in the Cambridgeshire Archives for marriages 1542-1837. Transcripts of the parish registers 1599-1845 are available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Coton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Coton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Coton to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL410587 (Lat/Lon: 52.208450, 0.062139), Coton which are provided by:

Military History

Taxation

  • Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives for the years 1767, 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32 and 1880-1948.