Nearby churches
"COTON is a parish, a quarter of a mile off the road from Cambridge to St. Neots, 4 miles west from Cambridge station in the hundred of Wetherley, union of Chesterton, petty sessional division and county court district of Cambridge, rural deanery of Barton and archdeaconry and diocese of Ely."
"In the village stands a monolith, 7 feet high, but whether a village cross or a boundary stone is uncertain. The Cambridge Preservation Society, John Hunt esq. and King's, Queen's, St. John's and Corpus Christi Colleges, Cambridge, are the principal landowners. A reading room was opened in 1913. The soil is clayey; subsoil, gault; there is also a greensand stratum, which crops out and yields ex-cellent water. The chief crops are wheat, barley, oats and beans. The area is 970 acres; the population in 1921 was 340."
[Kellys Directory of Cambridgeshire 1929]
The Monumental Inscriptions for St Peter's churchyard, 1725-1980, are recorded in the Cambridge Records Office. These inscriptions are also available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.
The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridge Record Office. In addition the 1851 Census for Coton is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.
"The church of St. Peter, which stands in the centre of the village, is a small building of stone and flint, chiefly in the Decorated and Perpendicular styles, and consists of chan-cel, nave, aisles, north and south porches and a Per-pendicular embattled western tower, carried on arches and finished with pinnacles and spire; it contains 3 bells: the font, of Norman work, consists of a square basin on a circular stem: the church was restored in 1880, and affords 150 sittings. The register dates from the year 1538."
"There is a Baptist chapel here with 120 sittings."
[Kellys Directory of Cambridgeshire 1929]
Coton, St. Peter: Records of baptisms 1538-1890, marriages 1542-1989, burials 1539-1992 and banns 1755-1977 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1859 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. Indexed transcripts exist in the Cambridge Record Office for marriages 1542-1837. Transcripts of the parish registers 1599-1845 are available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.
The Coton War Memorial has been transcribed and researched.
Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridge Record Office for the years 1767, 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32 and 1880-1948.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[Last updated 20 March 2003 Martin Edwards]