The Monumental Inscriptions of St John's churchyard 1753-1937 have been recorded and reside in the Cambridges Record Office. These are also available, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.
The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridge Record Office. In addition the 1851 Census for Duxford St John is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.
"St. John's church is an edifice in similar styles, and consists of chancel with chantry chapel, nave, north aisle, south porch and a line central embattled tower of Norman date with a small spire and containing 6 bells : the chapel retains a piscina, and the rood stairs in the north-west angle of the tower are in very good preservation: there are 220 sittings: the church is now only used for burial services. The register dates from the year 1685."
[Kelly's Directory - 1929]
Duxford St John: Records of baptisms 1684-1886, 1976, marriages 1684-1907, burials 1684-1934 and banns 1754-1812, 1824-1894 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1857 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. Indexed transcripts exist in the Cambridge Record Office for Bishops's Transcript's 1599-1687, baptisms, marriages, burials 1684-1851.
The parish registers are available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.
Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridge Record Office for the years 1759-63, 1789-1846 and 1865-1948.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[Last updated 9 August 2007 Martin Edwards]