Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Elsworth

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Elsworth

ELSWORTH

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2013

"ELSWORTH, a parish in the hundred of Papworth, county Cambridge, 5 miles north-east of Caxton, and 10 north-west of Cambridge. St. Ives is its post town, and the Offord station on the Great Northern line is about 7 miles to the west of the village. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of Ely, value £480. The church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, is a handsome structure, with a lofty tower and pinnacles. The register commences in 1540. The parochial charities produce about £60 per annum, £52 of which is an endowment for Franklin's almshouses. Here is a chapel belonging to the Particular Baptists, and a National school for both sexes, also an Infant school. Philip Gardner, Esq., is lord of the manor."

[Transcribed and edited information from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868]

Cemeteries

Census

Churches

  • Here are photographs of Churches etc. in the parish:
  • The following Churches have their own websites:

Church History

  • "The church of the Holy Trinity, which belonged to Ramsey Abbey from a very early period until the dissolution of the monasteries, is a building of stone in the pore Decorated style, and consists of chancel, clerestoried nave of four bays, aisles, south porch and a low embattled western tower, with pinnacles, containing a clock and 4 bells, 3 of which bear the following inscriptions : I, Non vex sed votum non musica cordeala sed cor. 1628; 3, Cum moveo admoneo, R.G.I.A. churchwardens. 1616; 4, + Christopher Graye made me. 1675 : the triple sedilia and double piscina are especially good examples of the Decorated style, and there is also some excellent Perpendicular wood work in the chancel, consisting of stalls returned at the west end, with poppy heads and linen fold panelling; under the book rests of tire stalls are little lockers retaining their original panelled doors, locks arid hinges: outside, on the south side of the chancel, is a lose-side window, with the original iron staples remaining: over the porch door is a sun-dial with the inscription "MOX NOX ; " and on the east gable is a most beautiful and perfect Decorated cross: on the floor are two slabs with matrices of 15th century brasses, and there are traces of others: in the tower is a plain chest: the church was thoroughly I restored in 1892, the north aisle completely rebuilt and I several new windows inserted, at a cost of £1,000, of which £300 was contributed by the late Rev. Edward I Cheere M.A. of Papworth Hall, to whose memory a new east window was inserted: the church affords 400 sittings. The register dates from 1528 and is in excellent preservation."
  • "The Particular Baptist chapel here will seat 250 persons."
    [Kelly's Directory - Cambridgeshire - 1929]

Church Records

  • Church of England
    • Elsworth, Holy Trinity: Records of baptisms 1538-1848, marriages 1439-1837, burials 1539-1867 and banns 1754-1802 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. Indexed transcripts for marriages 1539-1837 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1642, 1662-92 and 1711-1848 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. Transcripts of the parish registers, 1538-1867, are available, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list
  • Strict Baptist
  • Methodist
    • Wesleyan Methodist Church: Records exist at the Cambridgeshire Archives, Bedford and Huntingdon Record Offices for the St. Neots Primitive Circuit of which Elsworth is part.

Description and Travel

  • "Half an acre was given in 1901, by the then rector, as an additional burial ground. There are almshouses for three persons and charities of £11 yearly for distribution. Mrs. Banks left £300, the interest of which is distributed in coals &c. on the 21st Dec. annually. James Spearing and W. L. Raynes esqrs. are lords of the manor. The Rector is lord of the rectory manor."
    [Kelly's Directory - Cambridgeshire - 1929]

Gazetteers

Military History

Taxation

  • Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives for the years 1769, 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32 and 1946-48.

  • Church, The Drift, Church of England

Churches

  • Church, The Drift, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Elsworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Elsworth which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Elsworth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Elsworth to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL316636 (Lat/Lon: 52.254802, -0.073439), Elsworth which are provided by: