GENUKI Home page

Up Cambridgeshire Contents Contents Nearby PlacesNearby Places NeighboursNearby churches



GRANTCHESTER

"GRANTCHESTER, in Domesday 'Grantesete' and 'Grauntsethe,' and supposed by some to be the 'Grantaceaster' of Bede, is a parish and village, pleasantly situated on the west bank of the river Cam or Granta, 2½ miles south-west from Cambridge town, 3½ south-west from Cambridge railway station, in the Western division of the county, Wetherley hundred, Chesterton union, Cambridge petty sessional division and county court district, rural deanery of Barton and archdeaconry and diocese of Ely. The Bourn Brook, which separates this parish from Haslingfield, here joins the Cam, which separates the parish from Trumpington. "

"The soil is for the most part clayey; subsoil, clay and in some parts gravel. The chief crops are wheat, oats, beans and barley. The area is 1,380 acres of land and 11 of water; the in 1921 was 489 in the civil parish and also in the ecclesiastical parish."

"In 1912, by Local Government Board Cambridge (Extension) Order, 1911, an area of 167 acres from this parish was added to the borough of Cambridge far civil purposes."
[Kellys Directory of Cambridgeshire 1929]

Cemeteries

The Monumental Inscriptions for St Andrew churchyard, 1690-1987, are recorded in the Cambridge Records Office. These inscriptions are also available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Census

The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridge Record Office. In addition the 1851 Census for Grantchester is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Church History

"The church of St. Andrew is a building of clunch and rubble, with stone quoins and buttresses, in the Decorated and Perpendicular styles, and consists of chancel, nave of four bays, south aisle, north porch and an embattled western tower containing a clock and 3 bells: the chancel is a small but perfect example of the Decorated style, and has a curious single niche on either side : in the north wall is a low ogee-headed recess, and on the south side a cinquefoiled piscina: there is a memorial window to the Rev. Francis George Howard M.A. curate here 1866-75, d. i889; one to the Rev. William Martin M.A. vicar 1850-82, and five other memorial windows to members of the Howard, Lilley and Hawkes families; the stained east window was the gift of the Rev. Annesley William Streane D.D. vicar here 1898-1904: the nave is Perpendicular and retains a recess, and at the east end of the aisle is an altar-tomb, with the matrices of brass effigies of a man, his wife, children and shields of arms, circa 1470: there is also a fragment of an inscription on brass to a former vicar, the reverse of which is also inscribed: the font, apparently of Norman date, is a plain circular basin on a modern stem; there is a square Jacobean pulpit, ornamented in front with a shield of arms, 'two chevronels and a canton:' a south aisle was erected and the nave new roofed in 1877, and during the period 1887-91 the church was restored and seven stained windows erected, at a total cost of £2,923; the church affords 250 sittings. The register dates from the year 1539."

"The Baptist chapel was built in 1876 and enlarged in 1891."
[Kellys Directory of Cambridgeshire 1929]

Church Records

Church of England

Grantchester, St. Andrew: Records of baptisms 1555-1985, marriages 1539-2006, burials 1539-1928 and banns 1755-1980 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1641, 1661-1708, 1720-99 and 1813-81 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. Indexed transcripts exist in the Cambridge Record Office for baptisms 1555-1851, marriages 1539-1851 and burials 1539-1851. Transcripts of the parish registers 1555-1851 are available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Description and Travel

"The village hall was erected in 1928, at a cost of about £750. The feast, formerly held annually on July 25th and two following days is now held on July 25th only unless the 25th happens to fall on a Saturday or holiday, in which case the feast is held on the following Monday. There are some benefactions for special objects and a few small charities. This village is the site of a Roman station, and traces of a small Roman camp still remain. There also exists an ancient manor house (once the refuge of the members of King's College, Cambridge, during the time of the Plague) with a moated enclosure; the mill mentioned by Chaucer was higher up the river than the present mill. Lingay Fen, where ice skating championships are often held is partly in this parish."
[Kellys Directory of Cambridgeshire 1929]

There is a village website for Grantchester.

Military History

The Grantchester War Memorial has been transcribed and researched.

Taxation

Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridge Record Office for the years 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32 and 1880-1948.


Find help, report problems, and contribute information.


[Last updated 29 November 2007 Martin Edwards]