Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Hardwick

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Hardwick

HARDWICK

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2013

"HARDWICK, a parish in the hundred of Longstow, county Cambridge, 6 miles west of Cambridge railway station, and 4 east of Caxton, its post town. The parish is small, and wholly agricultural. It now contains only a small portion of common, the principal part having been enclosed in 1836. The tithes have been commuted for a rent-charge of £248. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Ely, value £288, in the patronage of the bishop. The church is dedicated to St. Mary. The register dates from 1654. The Masters and Fellows of Pembroke College, Cambridge, are lords of the manor.

[Transcribed and edited information from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868]

Cemeteries

Census

Churches

Church History

  • "The church of St. Mary is an ancient edifice of stone in the Decorated style, and consists of chancel, nave, south porch and an embattled western tower with spire containing 3 bells: the chance! retains a piscina, and the stairs to the rood loft also remain: in the chancel is a memorial window to the Rev. James Smith Brown M.A. 22 years rector of the parish, 1870-92: there are 152 sittings, all free. The register dates from the year 1564."
    [Kelly's Directory - Cambridgeshire - 1929]
  • A history of St. Mary is available from the village website.

Church Records

  • Church of England
    • Hardwick, St. Mary: Records of baptisms 1564-1951, marriages 1574-1649, 1695-1985, burials 1577-1908 and banns 1755-1934 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. Indexed transcripts for baptisms 1564-1885, marriages 1578-1885. burials 1577-1885 and banns 1757-1885 also reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1643, 1664-65, 1679-83, and 1705-1861 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. The transcripts of the parish registers 1564-1885 are available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list

Description and Travel

Gazetteers

Manors

  • "In or about 970, King Edgar, by the advice of Ethelwold, Bishop of Winchester, re-established a monastery here under the Benedictine rule, and gave back to it all the lands with which it was originally endowed, appointing Brithnoth, Prior of Winchester, the first abbot: the manor, given by him in 991 to the Abbot and Convent of Ely, was afterwards annexed to the see, till alienated by Bishop Heton in 1600: soon after this it was in the family of Long, whose heiress, Elizabeth, daughter of Henry Long esq. of Shingaye, brought it in marriage to Sir William Russell, created 21 July, 1603, Baron Russell of Thornhaugh; he died 9 Aug. 1613, end the title is now held by his descendant the Duke of Bedford K.G. after some intermediate alienations, it became the property of Dr. Matthew Wren, Bishop of Hereford (1635-6), then of Norwich (1636-8) and afterwards of Ely (1638-67), who gave it to the Master and Fellows of Pembroke College for the support and repairs of their new chapel, built chiefly at his expense, after a design by his nephew, the famous Sir Christopher Wren. The Master and Fellows of Pembroke College, Cambridge, are lords of the manor." [Kelly's Directory - Cambridgeshire - 1929]

Military History

  • The Hardwick Roll of Honour in the church has been transcribed and researched.
  • Near the church is a granite cross erected in 1921 as a memorial to the men of the parish who fell in the Great War, 1914-18.

Taxation

  • Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives for the years 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32 and 1946-48.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hardwick area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hardwick which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hardwick has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hardwick to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL372593 (Lat/Lon: 52.214800, 0.006806), Hardwick which are provided by: