Nearby churches
"KINGSTON is a parish about 8 miles north from Royston station on the Hitchin, Royston and Cambridge line of the London and North Eastern railway, 4 miles east from the Old North Road station on the Bedford and Cambridge branch of the London, Midland and Scottish railway and 8 south-west from Cambridge, in the hundred of Longstow, petty sessional division of Caxton, union of Caxton and Arrington, county court district of Cambridge, rural deanery of Bourn and archdeaconry and diocese of Ely."
"The soil is clay and gravel; subsoil, gault. The chief crops are wheat, oats and barley. The area is 1,907 acres the population in 1921 was 173."
[Kellys Directory of Cambridgeshire 1929]
The Monumental Inscriptions for the churchyard of All Saints and St. Andrew for the years 1770-1978 are recorded in the Cambridge Records Office. These inscriptions are also available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.
The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridge Record Office. In addition the 1851 Census for Kingston is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.
The complete transcription for Kingston of the 1891 Census can be found on the Cambridgeshire FHS website.
"The church of All Saints and St. Andrew is a structure of rubble in the Decorated and Perpendicular styles, and consists of chancel, clerestoried nave, aisles, south porch and an embattled western tower with turret on the north side and containing 2 bells; the north well of the chancel retains a small recess, probably a reliquary, and on both sides are arches with plate tracery: there is an ancient chancel screen, beautifully carved, and a Decorated font with octagonal basin, supported on low shafts with trefoiled arches under crocketed canopies, and a fine old Jacobean pulpit: the arcades of the nave are Perpendicular: the church chest is of rude construction, with strong iron work: the church was restored in 1895 at a cost of £1,600, and affords 130 sittings. The register dates from the year 1570."
[Kelly's Directory - 1929]
Kingston, All Saints and St. Andrew: Records of baptisms 11673-1899, marriages 1659-73, 1688-1991, burials 1654-1875 and banns 1754-1832 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1660, 1676-83, 1711-81 and 1813-77 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. Indexed transcripts exist in the Cambridge Record Office for marriages 1589-1647 and 1658-1837. Transcripts of the parish registers for the years 1599-1899 are available, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.
Records of baptisms 1841-45, 1857-83 and 1904-18 reside in the Cambridge Record Office.
Primitive Methodist Church: Records exist for the Cambridge Primitive Second Circuit of which Kingston is part.
"This place had formerly a market on Thursdays, granted in 1305 to Sir Constantine Mortimer, together with two fairs, one at the festival of St. Margaret, for six days, the other for three days at the festival of St. Luke: the market and fairs have long since become obsolete."
[Kelly's Directory - Cambridgeshire - 1929]
Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridge Record Office for the years 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32 and 1946-48.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[Last updated 7 November 2005 Martin Edwards]