Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Longstanton St Michael

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Longstanton St Michael

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2013

"LONGSTANTON ST. MICHAEL, a parish in the hundred of Northstow, county Cambridge, 5 miles north-west of Cambridge. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Ely, value £250, in the patronage of Magdalen College, Cambridge. The church is dedicated to St. Michael.

[Transcribed and edited information from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868]

Cemeteries

Churches

Church History

  • "The church of St. Michael, an edifice of rubble and flint, erected about 1230, is a simple yet beautiful specimen of the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch and a double bell gable at the west end containing 2 bells: the chancel was taken down in 1883 and rebuilt in 1884, as nearly as possible on its pre-Reformation lines, at a cost of £600: a beautiful triplet adorns the east end, and there is a large and double piscina with semicircular intersecting arches and an aumbry: the nave was restored in 1889, at a cost of £350: the roofs of the nave and porch are covered with thatch: there are 150 sittings. The register dates from the year 1559." [Kellys Directory - Cambridgeshire - 1929]

Church Records

  • Church of England
    • Long Stanton St Michael: Records of baptisms 1559-1771, 1813-1968, marriages 1564-1959, burials 1559-1771, 1813-1965 and banns 1754-1818, 1893-1959 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. Indexed transcripts exist in the Cambridgeshire Archives for baptisms 1599-1968, marriages 1559-1959 and burials 1599-1965; the transcripts of the parish registers for the years 1599-1974 are available, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1598-1652, 1662-1710, 1722-1876 can be found in the Cambridge University Library.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Longstanton St Michael which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Longstanton St Michael has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Longstanton St Michael to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL399661 (Lat/Lon: 52.275217, 0.049113), Longstanton St Michael which are provided by: