Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Madingley

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Madingley

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2013

"MADINGLEY, a parish in the hundred of Northstow, county Cambridge, 4 miles north-west of Cambridge, its poet town and nearest railway station. In this parish is the manor of Burlwas, the proceeds from which are applied to the benefit of the members of parliament for the county. The village is a small agricultural place. The impropriation belongs to the Bishop of Ely. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Ely, value £120, in the patronage of the bishop. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, has a spire and stained east window. There are National schools for both sexes, with residence for the teacher. Madingley House is a structure in the Elizabethan style."

[Transcribed and edited information from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868]

Cemeteries

Census

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Madingley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • "The church of St. Mary Magdalene: restored in 1885. and standing in the park, is a small building of stone, chiefly in the Early Decorated style, and consisting of chancel, clerestoried nave of five bays, north aisle and an embattled western tower and spire containing 2 bells; in 1927 the tower and spire were rebuilt at a cost of £2,000, defrayed by the Harding family: the chancel is Early English, rebuilt in 1877, but the chancel arch and the nave arcading are Decorated a very finely moulded arch, acutely pointed, opens into the tower: there is a good Norman font, brought here from the now destroyed church of St. Etheldreda, Histon: a new organ was provided in 1908 by Col. Harding: there are 150 sittings. The register dates from the year 1539. "
  • "There is Wesleyan chapel."
    [Kelly's Directory - Cambridgeshire - 1929]

Church Records

  • Church of England
    • Madingley, St. Mary Magdalene: Records of baptisms 1539-1916, marriages 1539-1992, burials 1539-1812 and banns for 1755-1863 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives, indexed transcripts exist for baptisms, marriages and burials 1539-1879 plus transcriptions of burials 1813-1985. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1856 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. The transcripts of the parish registers 1539-1875 are available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Madingley which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Madingley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Madingley to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL395603 (Lat/Lon: 52.223207, 0.040861), Madingley which are provided by:

Military History

Taxation

  • Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives for the years 1798 on microfilm, 1829-32 and 1880-1948.