GENUKI Home page

Up Cambridgeshire Contents Contents



Summary of Documentary and Library Holdings in the Cambridge County Record Office

Cambridge County Record Office
Shire Hall
Castle Hill
CAMBRIDGE
CB3 0AP

Telephone:- U.K. 01223 717281, Overseas +44 1223 717281
Fax:- U.K. 01223 717201, Overseas +44 1223 717201

Email: Cambridge Record Office from 18th November 2000

Opening Hours
9:00 a.m. to 12:45 p.m and 1:45 p.m. to 5:15 p.m. Tuseday to Thursdayday
9.00 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. and 1:45 p.m. to 4:15 p.m. Friday
5:15 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. Tueday evenings strictly by appointment*

The office is closed on public holidays

* Documents for Tuesday evening must be requested by 2:00 p.m. the same day

Description

This brief summary can only give a very general idea of the kind and range of materials available. By and large it is confined to records which survive for Cambridgeshire as a whole, though some are better than others. Details of holdings of parish registers, census, land tax and transcripts for each parish of monumental inscriptions are given in the booklet Genealogical Sources in Cambridgeshire which can be purchased from the Record Office directly, or alternatively from the Cambridgeshireshire FHS Bookstall.

Parish Registers & Microfilm of Registers for nearly every parish in ancient Cambridgeshire.

Bishop's Transcripts (B.T.s) for Cambridgeshire.

Modern typed and indexed transcripts of registers and B.T.s for many Cambridgeshire Parishes, and some parishes in Bedfordshire and Huntingdonshire. .

Registers, Church Books, Members Rolls, etc. of some Non-Conformist churches and chapels in Cambridgeshire,.

Transcripts of Monumental Inscriptions, war memorials, etc., in churches, churchyards, cemeteries, etc. (Note: those published by the Cambridgeshire FHS can be purchased from their - bookstall).

Probate Records, including Wills, administrations, inventories, and of the various Courts with indexes.

Indexes to records of surrounding local courts of probate. The Calendars of Grants of the records of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury and the Principal Probate Registry 1835-1966.

Census Enumerators' Schedules for the ten-yearly censuses of 1841-91 for all Cambridgeshire and the Isle of Ely, and some parishes in adjacent counties (microfilm). Indexed transcripts for 1851 for each parish in Cambridgeshire and the Isle of Ely.

Allegations and Bonds for Marriage Licences.

Index of all Marriages in Cambridgeshire.

Boyd's Index of Marriages in Cambridgeshire and the Isle of Ely 1538-1625, 1676-1837 (microfilm), with supplements 1625-75, 1801-37. Cambridgeshire burial index 1801-37 and Cambridgeshire baptisn index 1801-1837.

Overseers' Records including poor-rates, accounts and settlement papers, apprenticeships, etc. (card index).

Poll Books for Cambridgeshire, and Cambridge Borough.

Electoral Registers for Cambridgeshire and the Isle of Ely. (with gaps).

Taxation Records, including some lay subsidies and poll taxes, Hearth tax and land tax ,

International Genealogical Index for Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Huntingdonshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, London and Middlesex, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland and Suffolk (1992 Edition).

General biographical reference books, including old editions of Burke's Landed Gentry and Peerage, Crockford's Clerical Directory, Kelly's Handbook, etc.

Genealogical guides, including Marshall's Genealogist's Guide and continuations, Gibson and McLaughlin guides, Genealogical Research Directory, Family History Knowledge U.K., etc.


This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©Colin Hinson 2014