We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


  • Ashton was a township in Tarvin ancient parish, Eddisbury hundred (SJ 5169), which became a civil parish in 1866.
  • The civil parish was renamed Ashton Hayes in 2004.
  • It included the hamlets of Ashton Hayes, Brine's Brow and Woodside.
  • The population was 342 in 1801, 430 in 1851, 408 in 1901, and 394 in 1951.

For the period after 2004, see Ashton Hayes.


  • Tarvin: St. Andrew (Church of England). The ancient parish church for the township of Ashton.
  • Ashton Hayes: St. John the Evangelist, Church Road (Church of England). The district church for the township of Ashton from 1849. 
  • Click for photo of churchAshton, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan, later Primitive). Built in 1845, rebuilt in 1888.

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ashton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

  • Great Boughton (1837-69)
  • Chester (1870-1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937-74)
  • Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974-98)
  • Cheshire West (1998-2004)

Court Records

  • Eddisbury (1828-1974)
  • Chester (1974-2001)
  • Chester, Ellesmere Port & Neston (2001-04)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ashton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ashton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ashton to another place.


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ505693 (Lat/Lon: 53.218422, -2.742802), Ashton which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • Tarvin Rural Sanitary District (1875-94)
  • Tarvin Rural District (1894-1974)
  • Chester (1974-2004)

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Great Boughton (1837-71)
  • Tarvin (1871-1930)

Voting Registers

  • South Cheshire (1832-67)
  • West Cheshire (1868-85)
  • Eddisbury (1885-1948)
  • Northwich (1949-74)