Bewcastle Heritage Society
Information about
Bewcastle parish itself
can be found on the GENUKI page for the village; here information is provided about
a group dedicated to preserving its heritage.
Purpose
The Society was founded to capture and preserve some of the history
and culture of the parish before it is lost. In stating the various
subjects of interest to the Society, the listing should not be
taken to restrict the interests, but rather should be viewed very
broadly, including any subject of interest or value to knowing
the history, people and personality of Bewcastle.
Activities
We hold monthly meetings, usually within the parish and include
interesting outings during the summer months. Anyone with an interest
in the parish is welcome at our meetings or as a member. Details of meetings
are on the
Parish Newsletter
on the village website.
Publications
The
Bewcastle Journal is published twice yearly,
containing a collection of local articles compiled by the Society,
recording information about the parish that may otherwise be lost.
Recent articles have included genealogies of the Story, Nixon
and Armstrong families, data from the 1604 survey of the manor,
excerpts from the Church Warden's accounts, and
Memories
of Pipehead and Maggie.
Also available are a poster of the crests of local families, additional
literature and back issues of the
Journal.
A Society member and Bewcastle historian transcribed the early
parish registers of the Church of England for Bewcastle and those
of the Presbyterian chapel in the parish. Having recorded the
relevant information from the original registers, he then indexed
by full names and also by place-name, providing an invaluable
tool for the Bewcastle researcher, as well as providing fascinating
insights into the lives of earlier generations. Copies of these
transcripts were printed some time prior to 1999, and were
available for purchase from the Society, but now (2008) I cannot
find the details which were apparently available originally on
the
Bewcastle Publications webpage.
Contact
Contact details for publications are on the
Bewcastle Publications webpage.
[Page originated by Don Noble (as bewsoc.htm) in 1999 and updated 29 Aug 2004 - David Hawgood]