Nearby Places
CROSBY ON EDEN, Cumberland
"This parish, as the name indicates, lies along the banks of the
Eden, and is bounded on the other sides by Scaleby, Stanwix, and
Irthington. It is divided into four townships, viz., High Crosby,
Low Crosby, Brunstock, and Walby, whose united area is, according
to the latest returns, 2,855 acres, which are assessed at £4,060.
The only employment of the inhabitants, who number 593, is
agriculture, for which the soil of the parish is generally well adapted."
[Description from
T. Bulmer & Co's History, Topography and Directory of East Cumberland, 1884]
- History, Topography and Directory of East Cumberland,
T.F. Bulmer, T.Bulmer & Co., Manchester, 1884.
- The Transactions of the Cumberland & Westmorland Antiquarian & Archaeological Society:
- Notes on the parish registers of Crosby-On-Eden, T.H. Hodgson, O.S. 1888, Vol 9.
- "THE CHURCH, dedicated to St. John, was erected in 1864,
upon the site of an older edifice. Like the majority of modern
churches, it is in the Gothic style, and is a substantial structure, con-
sisting of nave and chancel with organ loft. Its erection cost about
£1,800, which was chiefly raised by subscription among the
parishioners. The church contains about 200 sittings, the greater
part of which are free. The old Norman font, which stood in the
original edifice, is still preserved in the church ; but it possesses no
features deserving a special description. The church passed with the
manor from the priory to the bishop of Carlisle, who has exercised the
right of patronage ever since. The living is valued in the King's Book
at £7 11s. 4d., but is now worth £300 per annum. The tithes were
commuted about thirty years ago for £375.
The vicarage is a plain structure between High and Low Crosby,
rebuilt about eighty years ago. It is now the residence of the curate,
the Rev. Robert Hind.
The school, adjoining the church, is a neat stone building, erected
in 1844 at a cost of £350, and enlarged in 1882 at an outlay of £110.
It is attended by about 100 children, who pay 2d. or 4d. per week
according to the circumstances of the parents."
(Extract from Bulmer's 1884 History & Directory, cited above)
- The following church records are available at the Carlisle office of the
Cumbria Archive Service:
Church of England (CRO Reference: PR109)
| Baptisms | Marriage | Banns | Burial | Bishops Trans |
| 1649-1978 | 1700-1976 | 1755-1927 | 1698-1906 | 1664-1877 |
- Beginning 1 July 1837, births, deaths and marriages, regardless of religious affiliation,
were recorded with Civil Registration Offices in Cumbria,
as in the rest of England. Copies of certificates recording these events may be purchased.
- Crosby-on-Eden fell under the authority of the ancient diocese of Carlisle
and wills prior to 1858 were proved in the consistory court there.
Records from 1548 to 1858 include original wills, letters of administration
and inventories, although there are significant gaps in the years
before 1661. These are deposited with the CRO at Carlisle.
Comprehensive indexes exist, at the Carlisle CRO, in card files
easily accessible in the reading room. The indexes cover from
1617 to 1941, listing the year of probate and the residence of
the deceased. This is extraordinarily helpful in distinguishing
between many individuals of the same name. Microfilm of many of
these records, and a partial typescript of the indexes, is available
at the Kendal office of the CRO.
- The Province of York covered most of northern England, including
this parish, and anyone who died leaving property in more than one
diocese within the province would have their will proved in the
Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of York (PCY) or sometimes
in the Chancery Court of the Archbishop of York. These records
are now deposited with York University,
Borthwick Institute of Historical Research.
- For probate from 1858 on, and general information, see our
England - Probate page.
However please note registered copy probate records for Cumberland are also available
1858-1941 at the Record Office in Carlisle.
[Page originated by Don Noble on 16 Nov 1997 and updated 2 Sep 2004 - Phil Stringer]
© Copyright Rosemary Lockie, GENUKI and Contributors 1999-2008, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/CUL/CrosbyonEden/index.html
[Adopted 8 Sep 2004. Last updated 7 May 2009 - 09:35 by Rosemary Lockie]