Nearby Places
DALSTON, Cumberland
"DALSTON parish is bounded on the east by Leath Ward, on the west by the
parishes of Thursby and Westward, on the north by Cummersdasle, High
Blackwall and Wreay townships, and on the south by the parish of Sebergham. A great
part of the arable land lies rather low, inclining gently to the river Caldew,
and has upon its well-wooded banks, three large cotton mills, an iron forge, a
flax mill, and two corn mills. The parish is remarkable for antiquities
and ancient mansions, amongst which is Rose Castle, the seat of the Bishop of
Carlisle."
[Description from
Mannix & Whellan's History, Gazetteer and Directory of Cumberland, 1847]
- History, Topography and Directory of East Cumberland,
T.F. Bulmer, T.Bulmer & Co., Manchester, 1884.
- History, Gazeteer and Directory of Cumberland. Mannix and Whelan, 1847.
- The Transactions of the Cumberland & Westmorland Antiquarian & Archaeological Society:
- Seven Volumes of Dalston Parish Registers, Kuper, M.E., Tr. 7, 1884
- The Dalston Transcript of 1589-90, Wilson, James, Tr. 4, 1880
- The parish registers of Dalston, Cumberland, Wilson, James, Ed. v.1 1570-1678, v.2 1679-1812.
- The following church records are available at the Carlisle office of the
Cumbria Archive Service:
Church of England (CRO Reference: PR41)
| Baptisms | Marriage | Banns | Burial | Bishops Trans |
| 1570-1866 | 1570-1989 | 1754-1967 | 1570-1901 | 1589-1870 |
Methodists (UMFC):
| | Baptisms |
| Chapel Registers | 1854-1929 |
- Beginning 1 July 1837, births, deaths and marriages, regardless of religious affiliation,
were recorded with Civil Registration Offices in Cumbria,
as in the rest of England. Copies of certificates recording these events may be purchased.
- A Description of Dalston transcribed from
Mannix & Whellan's History, Gazetteer and Directory of Cumberland, 1847
by ?Steve Bulman?.
- The Dalston Village
site has a useful selection of articles on Dalston History.
- Dalston fell under the authority of the ancient diocese of Carlisle
and wills prior to 1858 were proved in the consistory court there.
Records from 1548 to 1858 include original wills, letters of administration
and inventories, although there are significant gaps in the years
before 1661. These are deposited with the CRO at Carlisle.
Comprehensive indexes exist, at the Carlisle CRO, in card files
easily accessible in the reading room. The indexes cover from
1617 to 1941, listing the year of probate and the residence of
the deceased. This is extraordinarily helpful in distinguishing
between many individuals of the same name. Microfilm of many of
these records, and a partial typescript of the indexes, is available
at the Kendal office of the CRO.
- The Province of York covered most of northern England, including
this parish, and anyone who died leaving property in more than one
diocese within the province would have their will proved in the
Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of York (PCY) or sometimes
in the Chancery Court of the Archbishop of York. These records
are now deposited with York University,
Borthwick Institute of Historical Research.
- For probate from 1858 on, and general information, see our
England - Probate page.
However please note registered copy probate records for Cumberland are also available
1858-1941 at the Record Office in Carlisle.
[Page originated by Don Noble in 1999 and updated 2 Sep 2004 - Phil Stringer]
© Copyright Rosemary Lockie, GENUKI and Contributors 1999-2008, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/CUL/Dalston/index.html
[Adopted 8 Sep 2004. Last updated 24 Sep 2008 - 18:17 by Rosemary Lockie]