Link to maps of Stapleton (GENUKI)

STAPLETON, Cumberland

"Stapleton is encompassed by Nichol Forest, and the parishes of Bewcastle, Lanercost, Kirklinton, Arthuret and Walton. It comprises the townships of Belbank, Soloport, Stapleton and Trough although the people live in dispersed dwellings scattered over the parish, there being no village or hamlet containing more then ten or a dozen houses. It extends about three miles by five and lies about eight miles North from Brampton."

[Description from T. Bulmer & Co's History, Topography and Directory of East Cumberland, 1884]


Archives and Libraries



Church History

Church Records

Civil Registration


Probate Records

[Page originated by Don Noble on 24 Mar 1997 and updated 29 Aug 2004 - David Hawgood]

Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.