Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for England:- Church Records

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

England:- Church Records

  • The Open Library has made Charles Cox's 1910 publication The parish registers of England available online.

  • The L.D.S. (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints) have now provided online search facilities for the I.G.I. (International Genealogical Index). As well as the general search facility, there is also a Custom Search page allowing more refined searches. Hugh Wallis has provided a search facility which greatly simplifies searching by batch number. See also Finding L.D.S. Batch Numbers.

  • The FreeREG Project provides free Internet searches of baptism, marriage, and burial records, which have been transcribed from English and Welsh parish and non-conformist church registers.

  • The largest single collection of Parish Register copies and transcripts is at the Society of Genealogists, and these searched for in the (online) catalogue of the library of the Society of Genealogists.

  • The contents of missing Parish Registers can often be obtained by finding the copies that since 1598 have had to be made annually and sent to the bishop, i.e the Bishop's Transcripts. The standard source for locating such copies is: J.S.W. Gibson, Bishops' Transcripts and Marriage Licences, Bonds and Allegations. (FFHS Publications).

  • D.Roles' England Parish Registers page includes an illustration of a baptism record.

  • Tithe payments, used to support the clergy, are fully explained on this National Archives page - Tithe Records.

  • G. Jaunay. A Parish Finder for England, published by Adelaide Proformat: South Plympton, Australia (2000) 468 p. Includes Ordnance Survey references for all English parishes, both ancient and modern, their diocese, deanery and county as at 1974, their date of creation and dedication, indicating for modern parishes the ancient parish(es) from which they were created, etc.

  • The Clergy of the Church of England Database (CCEd) is a collaborative project to create a relational database documenting the careers of all Church of England clergymen between 1540 and 1835.

  • Stan Mapstone once put online the list, as certified to the Registrar-General, of Denominations in England and Wales in 1867. Unfortunately these disappeared the closure of AOL's hometown pages, if anyone finds them online at another URL, please let me know using the report link below