Cornwall
Contents
Nearby places
Altarnun
The parish of Altarnun (Cornish: Alternonna) is in the Hundred of Lesneweth, in the deanery of
Trigg-major and is eight miles west of Launceston. It is surrounded by the
parishes of Trewin, Lewanick and Northill on the east, St Cleer and St Neot on
the south, Blisland and St Breward (Simonward) on the west, and St Clether and Laneast on
the north. The name means Altar [church altar] of St Nonna. The village is to
the east of Bodmin Moor situated on a tributary of the River Inney, it is not
mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086. Altarnun Parish is now in the North
Cornwall district and part of it lies within Bodmin Moor. Part of the new
parish of Bolventor is in the south-west of the older Altarnun parish.
The area
is mainly moorland but there are areas of farmland to the East and animals
graze the moorland areas. The river Lynher rises in this parish. The
principal villages in this parish are the churchtown, more properly called
Penpont, Tredaule, Five Lanes, Gunnon, Treveage, West Carne, Trethyn, Treween
and Trewint. At Five Lanes, large cattle fairs were held; John Wesley preached
at Trewint.
Return to top of page
Census information for this parish (1841 - 1901) is held in the Cornwall Record Office. The Cornwall Family
History Society offers a census search service for its members. The Cornwall Family History Society have also published on-line census detail by surname on the FamilyHistoryonLine site.
Specific census information for this parish is available as follows:
- 1841. The 1841 Census of Altarnun (HO107/140) (Enumeration
Districts 1 to 4, including a detached part of Enumeration
District 2d), is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- 1851.
- The 1851 Census of Altarnun (HO107/1899), (Enumeration
Districts 1a, 1b, and 1c) is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- Part of the 1851 Census of Altarnun is available from the West-Penwith resources as part of the 1851 British Census 2% sample - Cornwall.
- Another part of the 1851 Census of Altarnun is also available from the West-Penwith resources as part of the same 1851 British Census 2% sample - Cornwall.
- 1861. The 1861 Census of Altarnun (RG9/1517), (Enumeration
Districts 1 to 3), is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- 1871. The 1871 Census of Altarnun (RG10/2222), Enumeration
Districts 1 to 3, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- 1881. The 1881 Census of Altarnun (RG11/2274), Enumeration
Districts 1 to 4, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- 1891. The 1891 Census of Altarnun (RG12/1801), Enumeration
Districts 1 to 3, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
Return to top of page
- Anglican. The parish church is located in OS Grid Square SX223813 and was dedicated to Saint Nonna. St Nonna was the mother of St.David and left Wales in 527 and was one of many who travelled to
Cornwall on their way to Europe. Alternun means the altar of St.Non (Nonna),
and is believed that the church is her burial-place. A Norman church was built
here in the twelth century; the present church was built in the early fifteenth
century.
The present church comprises a chancel which embraces the
eastern ends of the side aisles, and the communion rails traverse the whole
width of the church. The side aisles are separated from the nave by arcades of
depressed four-centred arches, supported on monolith granite pillars. The tower
is 110 feet in height and is the highest in Cornwall after Probus. It was much
damaged by storms in 1790 and 1810.
The Bolven Tor district church was originally another within this parish; it was consecrated on 3rd July 1848 and was dedicated to the Holy Trinity.
- Non-Conformist. There is a Wesleyan Methodist chapel in the village of Altarnun, which replaced an older chapel which had been converted into a schoolroom.
Return to top of page
- LDS Church Records.
- CRO Record Holdings. The Cornwall
Record Office holdings: Baptisms 1611 - 1980, Burials 1611 - 1963,
Marriages 1610 - 1973, Boyd's Marriage Index 1611 - 1673, BTs 1611 - 1673.
- Baptisms.
- The Cornish Forefathers' Society have published on CD baptisms 1725 to 1841 for this parish.
- Baptisms 1611 to 1673 (Bishop's Transcripts), 1679 to 1686, and 1688 to 1911 (parish transcripts), are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- Cornwall Legacy have published baptisms (1846 to 1900) of Altarnun, Lewannick and St Cleer Methodist Chapels on CD. Altarnun, Bowithick, Crow's Nest, Hockings House, Polyphant, St Cleer and Travadlock Cross Chapels. Areas include: Altarnun, Lewannick, St Cleer and St Clether.
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD baptisms (1863 to 1900) of the Camelford United Methodist Circuit. Areas include: Camelford, Boscastle, Tintagel, St Gennys, St Teath, St Kew, St Minver, St Mabyn, Michaelstow, St Endellion, Altarnun, St Breward, St Tudy, Advent, Lanteglos, Minster and Wadebridge.
- Cornwall Legacy have published on CD, baptisms (1869 to 1900) of the Michaelstow Bible Christian Circuit. The Circuit covers Michaelstow, Blisland, St Teath, Minster, Advent, Tintagel, St Breward, Forrabury, Lanteglos, St Endellion, Trevalga, St Neot, Temple, St Minver, Altarnun, Lesnewth, St Tudy, Davidstow, and Camelford.
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, records of the Launceston Wesleyan Circuit. These comprise baptisms (1837-1900). The areas cover Launceston, South Petherwin, Lewannick, North Hill, Altarnun, Linkinhorne, St Stephens, Lezant, Egloskerry, Egloskerry, Treneglos, Stoke Climsland, Laneast and Lawhitton.
- Cornwall Legacy have published on CD, records of the Liskeard Bible Christian Circuit. These comprise baptisms (1837 to 1900). The areas cover Liskeard, St Ive, St Cleer, Altarnun, Menheniot, St Neot, Broadoak, and certain other parishes.
- Banns. Banns 1787 to 1818 are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- Marriages.
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Marriages 1610 to 1837, which is available in CD or downloadable .pdf file format.
- Marriages pre-1679 (Bishop's Transcripts), 1679 to 1716, 1703 to 1913 (parish registers), and 1855 to 1913 (other transcriptions), are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- Burials.
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Burials 1813 to 1837, which is available in CD or book format.
- Burials 1611 to 1673, 1679 to 1686 (BTs), 1689 to 1699, 1712 to 1936 (parish registers), are available on-line through the OPC search Facility (C-PROP).
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, records of the Launceston Wesleyan Circuit. These comprise burials (1818-1880), St Thomas Wesleyan Burials 1842- 1892). The areas cover Launceston, South Petherwin, Lewannick, North Hill, Altarnun, Linkinhorne, St Stephens, Lezant, Egloskerry, Egloskerry, Treneglos, Stoke Climsland, Laneast and Lawhitton.
- Cornwall Legacy have published burials (1851 to 1900) of Altarnun, Lewannick and St Cleer Methodist Chapels on CD. Altarnun, Bowithick, Crow's Nest, Hockings House, Polyphant, St Cleer and Travadlock Cross Chapels. Areas include: Altarnun, Lewannick, St Cleer and St Clether.
Return to top of page
The parish of Altarnun is in the Launceston
Registration District and has been since 1st July 1837. There were
originally sub-districts at Altarnun, Launceston, North Hill, North Petherwin
and St Stephen-by-Launceston, but these are now all closed. Parishes within the district are: Altarnun, Boyton, Egloskerry, Laneast, Launceston, Lawhitton, Lewannick, Lezant, Northill, St. Mary Magdalene, St. Stephens by Launceston, St. Thomas the Apostle, St. Thomas Street, South Petherwin, Stokeclimsland, Tremaine, Treneglos, Tresmeer, Trewen, Warbstow.
The Superintendant Registrar can be contacted at: Hendra, Dunheved Road, Launceston, PL15 9JG. Tel: 01566 772464.
Return to top of page
- ePodunk's Cornwall page - providing general, plus some historical and genealogical information, about Cornwall and its parishes, together with links (mainly relating to general sites and services, rather than ones that are specific to Cornwall or particular parishes).
- Photographs
of Altarnun are available on-line.
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
- OPC Assistance. The On-line Parish Clerk (OPC) scheme operates a service to help family historians; the OPC page for this parish is available on-line, from where the OPC can be contacted.
- Mailing List. There is a mailing list for anyone with a genealogical and or historical interest in Bodmin Moor and its surrounding villages. Villages covered are: Advent (Tresinney), Alternun, Blisland, Bodmin, Boventor, Camelford (Lanteglos), Cardinham, Davidstow, Egloshayle, Helland, Laneast, Lanteglos by Camelford, Launceston, Lewannick, Liskeard, Michaelstow, North Hill, St Breward, St Breock, St Cleer, St Clether, St Mabyn, St Neot, St Tudy, Temple, Tresinney, Trewen, Wadebridge (Egloshayle & St Breock), and Warleggan. This list is in support of the OnLine Parish Clerk system. You can also subscribe to the ENG-CON-BODMINMOOR-L for the List version, or ENG-CON-BODMINMOOR-D (digest) for the Digest version.
Return to top of page
The Domesday Settlements of Cornwall, a study undertaken by the Cornwall Branch of the Historical Association, has identified and located settlements listed in the Exeter and Exchequer Domesday Survey of AD 1086. The following places have been identified in Altarnun ecclesiastical parish:
- Bowithick (Bowidock, Bowidock), Grid Reference 182929.
- Halvana (Hirmeneu, Ermenhev), Grid Reference 215787.
- Landinner (Landiner, Laniliner, Lanliner), Grid Reference 237834.
- Penpont (Penponta, Penponte), Grid Reference 224812.
- Tredaule (Tredaual, Tredaval), Grid Reference 234812.
- Trevague (Treuagan, Trevagav), Grid Reference 238797.
- Trewint (Trawint, Travvint), Grid Reference 220806.
Return to top of page
- The parish and town tithe maps, and accompanying survey books of c1840, provide a fascinating snap-shot of land use and ownership in the 19th century. In order to preserve the documents and improve access to them, the Cornwall Record Office are digitising these maps and survey books. The CD ROM tithe package include a map and survey books, together with a reader, for this parish; it is now available from the Cornwall Record Office. Details are on their website.
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
- Information about the Caradon and Liskeard Mines is available on-line.
- Apprenticeship Indentures for Altarnun (1752 - 1831) can be found in the Cornwall
Record Office. Some are on-line, courtesy of the OPC.
Return to top of page
- Altarnun parish was part of the Launceston
Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief. Overseers' Accounts
1796 to 1817, Settlement papers (1714 to 1824) and Bastardy Bonds (1704 -
1825), are available in the <Cornwall Record Office.
- Some Bastardy/Filiation documents have also been transcribed and are on-line.
Return to top of page
- Population in 1801 - 679 persons
- Population in 1811 - 784 persons
- Population in 1821 - 885 persons
- Population in 1831 - 1069 persons
- Population in 1841 - 1334 persons
- Population in 1851 - 1382 persons
- Population in 1861 - 1389 persons
- Population in 1871 - 1200 persons
- Population in 1881 - 1150 persons
- Population in 1891 - 1078 persons
- Population in 1901 - 911 persons
|
- Population in 1911 - 879 persons
- Population in 1921 - 847 persons
- Population in 1931 - 823 persons
- Population in 1951 - 700 persons
- Population in 1961 - 680 persons
- Population in 1971 - 718 persons
- Population in 1981 - 815 persons
(including 720 persons in Altarnun, Five Lanes & Trewint Villages)
- Population in 1991 - 860 persons (including 770 persons in Altarnun, Five
Lanes & Trewint Villages)
- Population in 2001 - 976 persons
- Population in 2011 - 1084 persons
|
Return to top of page
The parish comprises 15014 acres of land.
Return to top of page
The following Voters' Lists for Altarnun are available, courtesy of the OPC:
Return to top of page
Find
Help, report problems, or contribute information.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI.
Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2013
[Last updated: 2nd April 2013 - Ian Argall]
Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
Copyright and Disclaimer
- The information on the GENUKI
(www.genuki.org.uk/) website must not be used for commercial
purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices,
etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI
must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm
the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers,
and hence threaten its whole future.
- Whilst we take every care to keep the information on our
web pages accurate, we disclaim any warranty or representation, express
or implied about its accuracy, completeness or appropriateness for a
particular purpose. Thus, you assume full responsibility for its use,
and you understand and agree that neither GENUKI as an organisation nor
any of its maintainers or providers are responsible or liable for any
claim, loss or damage as a consequence.
- GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites
developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only.
We do not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance,
timeliness, or completeness of such sites, and in the event
of a link to such a site being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable,
our only recourse is to remove that link.
Thank you for your cooperation. GENUKI is a registered trademark
of the charitable trust GENUKI - see
About GENUKI as an Organisation.
|