Cornwall
Contents
Nearby places
Camborne
In 1867, Camborne (Cornish: Kammbronn) was situated in the Deanery and Hundred of Penwith. It was
bounded on the north and east by the sea and Illogan, on the south by Crowan
and Gwinear, and on the west by Gwithian. The parish is thought to take its
name from the Cornish for a 'crooked hill', but it was also the site of a
'holy well' situated within it, from which the name could be
derived.
Until the mining boom towards the end of the 18th century,
which saw the Camborne and Redruth district become the richest mining area in
the world at that time, Camborne was just a
village. Influx of miners transformed the village into a town in a very short
space of time. The town of Camborne is surrounded by numerous mine workings; it
comprises several uniform streets which were filled with miners' cottages.
The growth caused the parish to be spilt and three new parishes were created
from Camborne to serve this boom: Tucking
Mill in 1845, Treslothan also in 1845, and Penponds in 1854.
From the middle of
the 19th century and into the 20th century, many mines closed which led to mass
migration from the area. The last tin mine in Cornwall to close was the South
Crofty mine in Camborne which ceased operations in 1998.
Richard
Trevithick is probably Camborne's most famous son. He was born in a cottage
a mile or so from Dolcoath Mine in Camborne, where his father was a mine
Captain. His curiosity about the engineering aspects of the mining area in
which he grew up, started at an early age, and this led to a career during
which he pioneered the use of high pressure steam, and increased the efficiency
of the engines used to pump water from the lower levels of Cornwall's tin and
copper mines. Trevithick's inventive mind was never still - his ideas ranged
from the first successful self-powered road vehicle, and a steam railway engine, to schemes for wreck salvage, land
reclamation, mechanical refrigeration, agricultural machinery and for
tunnelling under the Thames. Trevithick spent eleven years in South America,
working for owners of silver mines. His memory is preserved in the annual Trevithick Day festival in the
town.
Camborne became pre-eminent in the training of mining engineers;
the Camborne School of Mines
continues with this task into the 21st century.
- Transcriptions from the Wesleyan Methodist Centenary Cemetery, Camborne, and
Camborne parish church are available on the Cornish Cemeteries site.
- The Cornwall Family
History Society have published Monumental Inscriptions on-line for:
- The Parish Church - 1145 entries
- Centenary Methodist Chapel - 1468 entries
Return to top of page
Census information for this parish (1841 - 1901) is held in the
Cornwall Record Office. The Cornwall Family
History Society offers a census search service for its members. The Cornwall Family History Society have also published on-line census detail by surname on the FamilyHistoryonLine site.
Specific census information for this parish is available as follows:
- 1841. The 1841 Census of Camborne (HO107/147) is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project as follows:
- 1851.
- The 1851 Census of Camborne (HO107/1916) is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project as follows:
- The New Zealand Society of Genealogists have compiled separate surname
indexes of the 1851 Census for each Cornish registration district; Camborne is listed in
Volume 37. The booklets are available in Cornwall at the Cornwall Centre, (formerly known as the Cornish Studies Library), and is
also available in the Cornwall FHS Library.
- 1861. The 1861 Census of Camborne is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project as follows:
- 1871.
- The 1871 Census of Camborne is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project as follows:
- RG10/2323:
- RG10/2324:
- RG10/2325:
- RG10/2326:
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: the 1871 Census of Camborne, enhanced with pictures and maps, which is available in CD format.
- 1881. The 1881 Census of Camborne is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project as follows:
- RG11/2334 - St Martin's:
- RG11/2335.
- RG11/2336.
- 1891. The 1891 Census of Camborne is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project as follows:
- RG12/1850 - St Martin's:
- RG12/1851.
Return to top of page
- Anglican. The parish church is
located in OS Grid Square SW6440 and was dedicated to St Meriadocus
(Meriadoc or Meriasek), Bishop of Vannu, and St Martin in the 15th Century.
Camborne church is a reminder of the parish's link with the important
Cornish language Miracle Play Beunans Meriasek (The Life of St Meriasek)
which was written about 1500.
The church of St Martin appears to have been originally
cruciform with transepts leading off what is now the nave and chancel aisle and
may date from the 12th to 13th centuries. The north and south aisles and tower
were added probably in the 15th century, in perpendicular Gothic style. From
evidence in the churchwardens accounts it would appear that the east end of the
north aisle was not added until the late 1530s, when the east wall of the
chancel was also rebuilt incorporating a new window. The lower exterior walls
of the chancel and its side wall to the north exhibit rubble masonry from the
pre-15th century church. By 1671, - two churches stood within the churchyard
walls, the main parish church as well as the chapel dedicated to the Blessed
Virgin Mary, which was once an important shrine. During the reformation the
chapel to the Blessed Virgin Mary fell into disuse. The Chapel was renovated
only once again in 1630 to be neglected in the times of Cromwell. In 1671, the
stones from the chapel were used to build the parish poorhouse in what is now
Pendarves Road.
In 1735, the Basset family of Tehidy added a small transept onto the south
aisle for use as a family pew. The new outer south aisle, added in 1878-9,
swallowed this up. In 1862 the existing church was gutted and the box pews and
galleries removed; together with a new roof, this great restoration cost £1500.
In 1879 the Vestry was erected. The porch also dates from this year, however it
incorporates much of the 15th century stone work. The roof also includes 15th
century carved timbers from the roof of the old south aisle. Finally in 1963,
the church hall was added.
The church comprises a chancel, nave, north
and south aisles, south transept and a vestry. Arcades are of seven depressed
four-centred arches supported on granite piers. There is an elaborate
altar-piece of sienna marble which was erected in 1761 at the expence of Samuel
Percivall Esq. of Pendarves. There is a north door and a south porch. The tower
is of three stages, with battlements and pinnacles; it is about 60 feet high
and contains six bells and a clock.
St James's chapel is said to have
existed here in 1437.
Details about the plans of the existing church are available on-line.
Other chapels known to have existed are: St Mary, St Anne,
St Ye, St Derwe, and St Margaret. There is also another Anglican church at Pool.
In the 19th century, the parishes of Treslothan, Penponds, and Tuckingmill, were created out of Camborne parish.
- Roman Catholic. In about 1845, Richard Pike, a Superintendent of the New West Cornwall Railway Company, a Quaker, married a Catholic, Elizabeth Lesher, whose family came from Alsace. His own family were of the "landed gentry" in Cork, Ireland. He was also director of some of the tin mining companies in the area and when many of the Cornish miners left for foreign parts to mine for gold, he brought in a large number of Irish labourers. The nearest Catholic Church was in Penzance (opened in 1843). Richard Pike was so impressed by the labourers who walked sixteen miles to Penzance for Mass, and especially his own maid, that he became a Catholic. In 1852, three priests came to Camborne, and began a Mission in a store just north of the railway station in Trevu Road. A chapel was later assembled in a loft of Mr. Pike's coach house. In 1857, Mr. Charles Reynolds, a barrister, offered a portion of his own property as a site for a church. It was near the station. The foundation stone was laid on 24th June, 1858. Bishop Vaughan solemnly blessed the new Church on May 26th, 1859. The present church is dedicated to St John the Baptist.
- Non-Conformist. In Camborne, there were chapels for the Wesleyan Methodists, Primitive Methodists, Bible Christians, New Connexion Methodists and United Methodist Free Church. Many of the Methodists' sects in Camborne are now united.
TROON. In the West Briton on 23rd April 1852: FREE WESLEYAN CHAPEL - On Thursday the 15th instant, the Free
Wesleyan Chapel, at Troon, in the parish of Camborne, was opened by the
Rev. S. DUNN. A correspondent states that a report has been circulated
to the effect that the present proprietors obtained possession of this
chapel by fraud. This however, he asserts is not the case. It was he
says "a perfectly just, upright, and honest transaction. On the
expiration of the lease the chapel was valued by competent persons
chosen by each party, and offered by the lessee to the Conference in
their valuation. They however, would only give a quarter part of the
sum, which of course was refused. It was then offered to the Free
Wesleyans, who accepted it, and have now re-opened it for public
worship".
Return to top of page
- LDS Church Records.
- The Cornwall Record Office holdings: Baptisms 1591 - 1944, Burials 1538 - 1937,
Marriages 1538 - 1946, Boyd's Marriage Index 1538 - 1812, Pallot's Marriage Index 1800 - 1812, Non-Conformist records 1828 - 1837.
- On-line Baptism Records.
- Baptisms in this parish 1588 to 1837 (parish registers and Bishop's transcripts combined), and 1889 to 1911, are available on-line through the OPC Search Facility - (C-PROP).
- Camborne Wesleyan Circuit baptisms 1828 to 1837 are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- The OPC has made the following Camborne (Parish Church) baptisms available on-line:
- On-line Marriage Records.
- Marriages in this parish 1538 to 1860 (parish registers), and 1538 to 1812 (Bishop's transcripts), are available on-line through the OPC Search Facility - (C-PROP).
- Phillimore's Marriages of Camborne 1574 to 1812 are also available on-line from UK Genealogy Archives.
- The OPC has made the following Camborne (Parish Church) marriages available on-line:
- On-line Burial Records.
- Burials in this parish 1538 to 1837, and 1889 to 1936, are available on-line through the OPC Search Facility - (C-PROP).
- The OPC has made the following Camborne (Parish Church) burials available on-line:
- Other Records.
- Baptisms.
- Cornwall Legacy have published on CD parish baptisms (1640 to 1775), Marriages (1538 to 1775) and Burials (1640 to 1775).
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, baptisms (1837 to 1862) of the Falmouth Bible Christian Circuit. The area covers Falmouth, Camborne, Lanner, Penryn, Gwennap, St Agnes, and Kenwyn.
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, baptisms (1843 to 1900) of the Falmouth, Redruth & Camborne Bible Christian Circuit. The area covers Falmouth, Redruth, Camborne, Lanner, St Agnes, and Kenwyn.
- Marriages. The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Marriages 1538 to 1837, which is available in Book, CD or downloadable .pdf file formats.
- Burials. The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Burials 1813 to 1837, which is available in Book format.
- Other Non-Conformist Records. OPC Coverage of Non-Conformist records of this parish is available.
Return to top of page
The parish of Camborne was originally in the Redruth Registration District.
It is now in the Registration
District of Camborne-Redruth. There were sub-districts at Camborne,
Gwennap, Illogan, Phillack and Redruth which have been abolished. Parishes in this registration district are: Camborne, East Phillack, Gwennap, Gwinear, Gwithian, Illogan, Phillack, Redruth, St. Sithian's, West Phillack.
The address of the Superintendant Registrar is: Roskear, Camborne, TR14 8DN. Tel: 01209 612924.
Return to top of page
- ePodunk's Cornwall page - providing general, plus some historical and genealogical information, about Cornwall and its parishes, together with links (mainly relating to general sites and services, rather than ones that are specific to Cornwall or particular parishes).
- Photographs
of Camborne are available on-line.
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
- OPC Assistance.
- The On-line Parish Clerk (OPC) scheme operates a service to help family historians; the OPC page for this parish is available on-line, from where the OPC can be contacted by email.
- The OPC has produced a genealogical website for the Town.
- Strays. Persons living in a parish but born elsewhere are known as "Strays".
Return to top of page
- The parish and town tithe maps, and accompanying survey books of c1840, provide a fascinating snap-shot of land use and ownership in the 19th century. In order to preserve the documents and improve access to them, the Cornwall Record Office are digitising these maps and survey books. The CD ROM tithe package include a map and survey books, together with a reader, for this town; it is now available from the Cornwall Record Office. Details are on their website.
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
- Information about the Camborne Mining Area is available on-line.
- A website dedicated to the King Edward Mine in Camborne is available. King Edward is typical of many small Cornish mines of the first decade of the 20th Century. Remarkably it has survived almost intact and today is the oldest complete mine site in Cornwall. All of the buildings are Listed Grade 2 star which means that they are considered to be of national importance. The King Edward Mine Museum is 1½ mile from Camborne Station, and is located at Grid Reference SW 6645 3890.
Return to top of page
Camborne parish was part of the Redruth
Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief. Overseers' Accounts
(1648 to 1717) are available in the Cornwall Record Office.
Return to top of page
Three parishes were formed from parts of Camborne parish: Tuckingmill in
1845, Treslothan also in 1845 and Penponds in 1854.
- Population in 1801 - 4811 persons
- Population in 1811 - 4714 persons
- Population in 1821 - 6219 persons
- Population in 1831 - 7699 persons
- Population in 1841 - 10061 persons
- Population in 1851 - 12887 persons
- Population in 1861 - 14056 persons
- Population in 1871 - 14929 persons
- Population in 1881 - 13607 persons
- Population in 1891 - 14700 persons
- Population in 1901 - 14726 persons
|
- Population in 1911 - 15829 persons
- Population in 1921 - 14578 persons
- Population in 1931 - 14160 persons
- Population in 1951 - 13949 persons
- Population in 1961 - 14125 persons
- Population in 1971 - 16631 persons
- Population in 1981 - 18590 persons (including 13965 in Camborne town)
- Population in 1991 - 19335 persons (including 14765 in Camborne town)
- Population in 2001 - 20010 persons
- Population in 2011 - 00000 persons
|
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
- The Carn-Brea Mining Society was formed in 1974 to encourage the study of all aspects of mining, geology and mineralogy in the South West of England. The Society is purposely based amid the traditional tin and copper area of Camborne and Redruth. Meetings and lectures are held at the Opie Building at the Cornwall College, and field meetings are also arranged. A news letter is published in June and December and a news sheet in March and September. The Society currently has 110 members. Membership of the Society is available to anyone.
- The Gowethas Kernow Goth Cambron (Camborne Old Cornwall Society) is on-line.
Return to top of page
The parish comprised 6032 acres of land and 50 acres of foreshore.
Return to top of page
Find
Help, report problems, or contribute information.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI.
Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2012
[Last updated: 5th March 2012 - Ian Argall]
Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
Copyright and Disclaimer
- The information on the GENUKI
(www.genuki.org.uk/) website must not be used for commercial
purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices,
etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI
must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm
the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers,
and hence threaten its whole future.
- Whilst we take every care to keep the information on our
web pages accurate, we disclaim any warranty or representation, express
or implied about its accuracy, completeness or appropriateness for a
particular purpose. Thus, you assume full responsibility for its use,
and you understand and agree that neither GENUKI as an organisation nor
any of its maintainers or providers are responsible or liable for any
claim, loss or damage as a consequence.
- GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites
developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only.
We do not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance,
timeliness, or completeness of such sites, and in the event
of a link to such a site being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable,
our only recourse is to remove that link.
Thank you for your cooperation. GENUKI is a registered trademark
of the charitable trust GENUKI - see
About GENUKI as an Organisation.
|