1881 Census. The 1881 Census of Illogan is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project as follows:
- RG11/2332.
- RG11/2333.
- 1891 Census. The 1891 Census of Illogan is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project as follows:
Return to top of page
- Anglican. There are three Anglican church in the parish. Information about these three lively and welcoming churches in the parish is separately available. The churches are:
- Illogan. The parish church
is located in OS Grid Square SW6743 and was dedicated to St Illogan
(Ylloganus or Euluganus) and St Edmund. The earliest reliable reference to a
church in Illogan, dated 1235, refers to the Ecclesia of Eglossalau. All
that remains today of the church on that site is the tower, some monuments and
a few stones. The building lay roughly in a North East - South West alignment
and almost filled the original tiny churchyard which lay around it in a rough
oval. As was common with many other Cornish churches, it would seem that the
church was either extensively restored or entirely rebuilt about 1500. It had a
thatched roof and the walls of the church were regularly whitewashed. The oak
pews all had doors to keep out the draft; some had richly carved bench ends.
There was an oak Communion Table, over which were the slate tablets of the Ten
Commandments - now to be seen in the present parish church. By 1844 the old
church building had became too small and dilapidated to serve a vastly
increasing mining population, so the decision was taken to replace it. The new
church of St Illogan was built at a cost of £2875 and came into use on 4th
November 1846.
The present church comprises a chancel, nave, north and
south aisle, and a vestry. The arcades each have five lofty pointed arches of
granite, supported on otagonal monolith pillars of the same material; over the
north door are royal arms, boldy carved and emblazoned. The roof is of open
woodwok. There are north and south porches and a priest's door. The Bell
Tower is all that remains of the old church building. Everything else was
demolished just before the new building opened in 1846. The tower would have
gone the same way, but Trinity House refused to allow its removal as it
provided a useful landmark for shipping.
Details about the plans of the modern church are available on-line.
There were also several other chapels in the parish during the
Middle Ages. The Chapel of St Edmund was so important that the Parish Church is
still called "The Rectory of Saints Illogan and Edmund" in documents
of 1543 and 1548.
- Trevenson. Because of the distance from the parish church the spiritual needs of Pool were met by a new chapel-of-ease built on the "West Field" of Treloweth Wartha Farm. This field, together with 20 acres of adjoining enclosures had been purchased in 1801 from Lord Falmouth by Lord de Dunstanville of Tehidy Park, who financed the building of the chapel, gifting it to the parish together with the rent of the remaining land (£42 per year). Treloweth Chapel, as it was first known, was consecrated on 6th July 1809 by Dr Pelham, the Bishop of Exeter, who had spent the previous night at Tehidy House. Present were Lord de Dunstanville, the Honourable Miss Basset (his daughter) and the Misses Mary and Catherine Basset (sisters). After the ceremony a large party, including the reverend gentlemen, dined with Lord de Dunstanville at Tehidy. Among church papers examined some years ago was an undated handwritten note stating that the chapel was consecrated in the name of the Chapel of Illogan or Illogan Chapel although later, during the rebuilding of the Parish Church (see Parish Church history on this web site) it was referred to as the Chapel of Illogan or Chapel of Trevenson. The note also referred to it being known as Trevenson Church or Trevenson Chapel-of-Ease. By a deed of 1809 Lord de Dunstanville covenanted for himself and his heirs to keep the chapel in repair. In time there arose a resistance from later Bassets to do so and payments ceased in 1915. Photographs of Trevenson Church are available.
- Portreath. In November 1840 the Revd George Treweeke and John Basset of Tehidy Park petitioned:
...that because the Parish of Illogan contains 7000, many of whom to the amount of about 700 are resident at or near Portreath within the said parish at a distance of two miles from the Parish Church; that .... there has been erected on a spot of ground within the said hamlet of Portreath a .... chapel of Ease to the Parish Church of Illogan. Portreath Chapel was opened in 1841; it was dedicated to St Mary, and was consecrated on 3rd July 1842. It was said to contain 256 sittings and, in consequence of a grant from the Incorporated Society for promoting the Building and Enlargement of Churches and Chapels, 228 of that number were declared to be free and unappropriated for ever. By the late 1950s the chapel had deteriorated badly - possibly because of a water course that ran beneath its foundations - and worship was being conducted in the church hall. The bold decision was therefore made in 1963 to demolish the old building and erect a new church on the site.
A chapel-of-ease was also
built at Portreath. From the WEST BRITON Newspaper, Friday 5th August, 1842: CONSECRATION OF NEW CHURCHES - On Saturday se'nnight, the new Chapel of Ease at Portreath was consecrated by the Lord Bishop of Exeter.
Details about the plans of the modern church are available on-line.
- Non-Conformist. In the Churchtown, and at Portreath, were Wesleyan Methodist chapels. There is also a Methodist chapel at Bridge.
Return to top of page
Information on Illogan parish registers is available. In general, researchers will find the following most useful:
- LDS Church Records.
- The Cornwall
Record Office holdings:
- Anglican.
- Baptisms: 1539-1547, 1561-1589, 1614-1617, 1664-1665, 1684-1699, 1735-1985.
- Banns of Marriage: 1823-1993.
- Marriages: 1600-1645, 1654-1669 (with note of sequestration 1646-1660), 1735-1960.
- Burials: 1540-1543, 1559-1646, 1654-1695, 1735-1944.
- Boyd's Marriage Index 1613 - 1673.
- Bishop's Transcripts: 1613 - 1673.
- Methodist.
- Carn Brea (Wesleyan): Baptisms 1938-1981
- Illogan Downs (Wesleyan): Baptisms 1839-1921; Baptisms 1922-1961
- Illogan Highway Chili Road (United Methodist Free Church/United Methodist): Baptisms 1892-1934; marriages 1959-1972
- Pool St. Martin's (UMFC/UM): Baptisms 1877-1903
- Roscroggan (Wesleyan): Baptisms 1916-1990
- Roscroggan (UMFC/UM) Baptisms 1880-1930
- Treskillard (Primitive Methodist) Baptisms 1942-1979
- Voguebeloth (Wesleyan) Baptisms 1841-1876, Baptisms 1876-1985.
- The Cornwall Family History
Society have published on-line transcripts of:
- 1813-37 Marriages
- 1813-37 Burials.
- Information on non-conformist
registers in Illogan parish is available on-line.
- Baptisms.
- The Cornish Forefathers' Society have published on two CDs, baptisms 1720 to 1812 and 1813 to 1840 for this parish.
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, baptisms (1839 to 1900) of the Redruth Methodist Circuit. The Circuit covers Redruth, Gwennap, Illogan, St Agnes, Portreath, and Carn Brea.
- The following baptisms are on-line:
- Marriages. The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Marriages 1601 to 1837, which is available in Book, CD or downloadable .pdf file formats.
- Burials.
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Burials 1813 to 1837, which is available in Book and CD formats.
- Burial Ground (Sexton) Records from 1895 are available on-line. See under Cemeteries.
Return to top of page
The parish of Illogan was originally in the Redruth Registration District.
There were sub-districts at Camborne, Gwennap, Illogan, Phillack and Redruth
which have now been abolished. It is now part of the Registration
District of Camborne-Redruth. Parishes in this registration district are: Camborne, East Phillack, Gwennap, Gwinear, Gwithian, Illogan, Phillack, Redruth, St. Sithian's, West Phillack.
The address of the Superintendant Registrar is: Roskear, Camborne, TR14 8DN. Tel: 01209 612924.
Return to top of page
- ePodunk's Cornwall page - providing general, plus some historical and genealogical information, about Cornwall and its parishes, together with links (mainly relating to general sites and services, rather than ones that are specific to Cornwall or particular parishes).
- Pictures of
Illogan are available on-line.
- More information on, and pictures of, the parish of Illogan is
available.
- Further detail to help with Illogan Parish
Research is also given.
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
- Information on undertaking family
history research in Illogan parish is also available.
- OPC Assistance.
- The On-line Parish Clerk (OPC) scheme operates a service to help family historians; the OPC page for this parish is available on-line, from where the OPC can be contacted by email.
- The OPC for Illogan has produced a genealogical
website for the parish.
Return to top of page
The Domesday Settlements of Cornwall, a study undertaken by the Cornwall Branch of the Historical Association, has identified and located settlements listed in the Exeter and Exchequer Domesday Survey of AD 1086. The following places have been identified in Illogan ecclesiastical parish:
Return to top of page
Information on the history of
Illogan parish is available on-line.
Return to top of page
- The parish and town tithe maps, and accompanying survey books of c1840, provide a fascinating snap-shot of land use and ownership in the 19th century. In order to preserve the documents and improve access to them, the Cornwall Record Office are digitising these maps and survey books. The CD ROM tithe package include a map and survey books, together with a reader, for this parish; it is now available from the Cornwall Record Office. Details are on their website.
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
Information about the Illogan Area Mines is available on-line.
Return to top of page
- Illogan parish was part of the Redruth
Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief.
- The Redruth
Union Workhouse was erected in 1838 in Illogan Highway from designs by the
Architects G. Gilbert Scott and W. Bonython Moffatt. Under the National Health
Service it became Barncoose Hospital, and was later closed.
- Overseers' Accounts (1763 to 1779, 1799 to 1837) are available in the Cornwall
Record Office.
Return to top of page
- Population in 1801 - 2895 persons
- Population in 1811 - 4078 persons
- Population in 1821 - 5170 persons
- Population in 1831 - 6072 persons
- Population in 1841 - 7750 persons in Illogan parish and 65 persons
resident on shipping
- Population in 1851 - 9218 persons
- Population in 1861 - 9683 persons
- Population in 1871 - 9747 persons
- Population in 1881 - 8723 persons
- Population in 1891 - 9312 persons
- Population in 1901 - 8883 persons
|
- Population in 1911 - 8885 persons
- Population in 1921 - 8331 persons
- Population in 1931 - 8008 persons
- Population in 1951 - 8412 persons
- Population in 1961 - 8153 persons
- Population in 1971 - 10304 persons
- Population in 1981 - 4690 persons in Illogan parish and 3685 persons in Illogan and Park Bottom
villages
- Population in 1991 - 5365 persons in Illogan parish and 4125 persons in Illogan and Park Bottom villages
- Population in 2001 - 5585 persons
|
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
The parish comprises 8493 acres of land.
Return to top of page
Find
Help, report problems, or contribute information.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI.
Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2008
[Last updated: 23rd June 2008 - Ian Argall]
Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
Copyright and Disclaimer
- The information on the GENUKI
(www.genuki.org.uk) website must not be used for commercial
purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices,
etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI
must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm
the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers,
and hence threaten its whole future.
- Whilst we take every care to keep the information on our
web pages accurate, we disclaim any warranty or representation, express
or implied about its accuracy, completeness or appropriateness for a
particular purpose. Thus, you assume full responsibility for its use,
and you understand and agree that neither GENUKI as an organisation nor
any of its maintainers or providers are responsible or liable for any
claim, loss or damage as a consequence.
- GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites
developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only.
We do not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance,
timeliness, or completeness of such sites, and in the event
of a link to such a site being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable,
our only recourse is to remove that link.
Thank you for your cooperation. GENUKI is a registered trademark
of the charitable trust GENUKI - see
About GENUKI as an Organisation.
|