The parish of Launcells, (Cornish: Lannseles), is situated in the Deanery of Trigg Major and the Hundred of Stratton. It is bounded on the north by Kilkhampton, on the east by Pancrasweek in Devon from which it is partially separated by the river Tamar, on the south by Bridgerule West and Marhamchurch, and on the west by Stratton and Poughill. Originally called Lanceles, the small parish of Launcells is located just inland from Bude and Stratton and contains a few scattered hamlets. The meaning is taken from Lann (church site) plus unknown word. However, in this parish was a cell of the Austin Canons, belonging to Hartland Abbey, which was leased by Henry VIII in 1537 to Sir John Chamond. It had been supposed that this cell gave its name to the parish, but there is also evidence that it was a family name. In the reign of King John (1199-1216) that Matilda, the widow of William Launcell, granted her wood in Launcell Manor to Hugo, Abbot of Hartland Abbey, for which she received ten shillings. Launcells Manor was mentioned in the Doomsday Book of 1086 and so indicates a Norman church was here at that time.
Launcells is set in a secluded valley three miles east of Bude; it is away from everywhere, charming in its loveliness among the fields. There is no Launcells village; the Church is located at Launcells Barton, and the chief hamlets are Grimscott and Butsber or Butsbeer, (now called Buttsbear).
Most parish and church description(s) on these pages are from Lake's Parochial History of the County of Cornwall by J Polsue (Truro, 1867 - 1873)