Cornwall
Contents
Nearby places
Mawgan-in-Meneage
The parish of Mawgan-in-Meneage, (Cornish: Sen Mowgan), is situated in the Deanery and Hundred of
Kerrier, and is so denominated to distinguish it from Mawgan in Pydar Hundred.
It is bounded on the north by Wendron and the Helford estuary which separates
it from Constantine, on the east by St Martin-in-Meneage, on the south by Cury
and on the west by Gunwalloe.
St Meugan was venerated in south-west
Wales and also in Brittany, where he was known as Maugan or Mogan. Meneage is
believed to be a derivation of 'monk'.
Mawgan is an Attractive village in south-west Cornwall between the Helford
River and Gunwalloe. There are memorials in the church to the influential
Vyvyan family.
Three noble Cornish families, the Roskymers, Carminowes, and Vyvyans, were
once settled in this parish. Only the latter remains (1894). Their seat is a
fine old castellated building with a chapel, called Trelowarren. The
family of Vyvyan dates from the time of Edward VI. In the civil wars they
attached themselves with the most devoted loyalty to the royal cause, and
suffered severely from the Parliamentary forces. In testimony to the eminent
services of Sir Rd. Vyvyan, then the head of the family, there hangs in there
house a large painting, by Vandyke, of King Charles I on horseback, presented
to the family by Charles II. Another Sir Richard Vyvyan, a lineal descendent of
this brave old cavalier, was imprisoned in the tower by George I, on suspicion
of being concerned in favouring the design of the Pretender. Still another Sir
Richard Vyvyan died at Trelowarren on August 15th, 1879. He was a Tory of the
old school, and represented Bristol in Parliament after the passage of the
Reform Bill in 1832 until the dissolution of 1837. In 1841 he was returned as
Member for Helston, which borough he continued to represent up to 1857, when he
finally retired from public life. (The Vyvyans still live at Trelowarren at the beginning of the 21st century).
At Mawgan Cross, in this parish, is a very old stone, with an inscription in
Cornish, which has been thus interpreted "What lieth here is not the soul.
At
Gear, Gweek Wood and Carvallock, are remains of extensive earthworks. On
Goonhilly Downs, which extends into this parish, are many barrows, in which
have been found coins and weapons of war. A "fogou" or cave exists at
Trelowarren near the entrance to an ancient entrenchment, the remains of which
can still be traced. This parish was well wooded, and the walks and drives
along and about the Helford River are scarely to be equalled for variety and
picturesque beauty in the county. Numerous Roman coins have from time to time
been found in this parish."
The Churchtown is the chief village of the
parish.
Return to top of page
Census information for this parish (1841 - 1901) is held in the
Cornwall Record Office. The Cornwall Family
History Society offers a census search service for its members. The Cornwall Family History Society have also published on-line census detail by surname on the FamilyHistoryonLine site.
Specific census information for this parish is available as follows:
- 1841. The 1841 Census of Mawgan-in-Meneage (HO107/138), Enumeration
Districts 8 to 11, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- 1851.
- The 1851 Census of Mawgan-in-Meneage (HO107/1912), Enumeration Districts 4a, 4b, 4c, and 4d, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census Project.
- The New Zealand Society of Genealogists have compiled separate surname
indexes of the 1851 Census for each Cornish registration district; Mawgan-in-Meneage is
listed in Volume 32. The booklets are available in Cornwall at the
Cornwall Centre, (formerly known as the Cornish Studies Library), and is
also available in the Cornwall FHS Library.
- 1861. The 1861 Census of Mawgan-in-Meneage (RG9/1572), Enumeration
Districts 8 to 11, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- 1871. The 1871 Census of Mawgan-in-Meneage (RG10/2304), Enumeration
Districts 8 to 11, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- 1881. The 1881 Census of Mawgan-in-Meneage (RG11/2323), Enumeration
District 8 to 11, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- 1891. The 1891 Census of Mawgan-in-Meneage (RG12/1840), Enumeration
Districts 8 to 11, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
The OPC will undertake look-ups for this parish.
Return to top of page
- Anglican. A history of the parish church is
available. It is located in OS Grid Square SW7025
The church is dedicated to St Mawgan (Mauganus. It comprises a chancel,
nave, north aisle, north transeptal recess, south transept, and vestry. The
arcade consists of seven four-centred arches with monolith pillars; the
material is porcelain stone, probably coming from the neighbouring parish of
Germoe. The entrances are a south porch, a priest's door, a vestry door,
and the Trelowarren pew door (for the Vyvyan family). The tower is of three stages
and is finished with battlements and pinnacles. The belfry contains three
bells.
In the church is a stone effigy of a recumbent crusader, one of
the Carminowes, and in the north aisle are hung the helmet and sword used by
Sir R. Vyvyan in the Civil Wars.
Details about the plans of the modern church are available on-line.
The neighbouring parish of St Anthony became a united benefice with Manaccan by an order in council dated 15 February 1916. St Martin was added to this benefice by another order in council dated 22 December 1982, since when Mawgan has been added. The Rectory of Mawgan now forms one benefice with these parishes.
- Non-Conformist. There was a chapel for the Wesleyan Methodists in the
Churchtown; there were also chapels for the United Methodist Free Church at Garras
and Bowgyhere.
Return to top of page
- LDS Church Records.
- The LDS Church batch numbers for Mawgan-in-Meneage are: C020931, C053571/2. These are searchable by surname. Marriages are not available.
- This parish is NOT believed to be fully included in the LDS
Church's International Genealogical Index (IGI), the coverage of which for this parish is 1559 - 1875.
- Parish Registers - LDS Films. Researchers can order the following parish registers on Microfilm, for viewing at LDS Family History Centres:
- Baptisms 1559-1959, Marriages 1563-1756 and Burials 1662-1665 & 1810-1890.
- Film No: 226169.
- Marriages 1754-1959, Banns 1754-1812, Burials 1813-1959 - Film No:
254168.
- Baptisms, Marriages and Burials 1559-1812, Marriages 1754-1812, Baptisms
1813-1837, Marriages 1813-1837, Burials 1813-1858, Baptisms 1837-1900,
Marriages 1837-1900, Burials 1858-1900, Banns 1886-1900 Film No: 1595967.
- Transcript of Parish Register 1559-1837 and Bishop's transcripts 1663-1665. -
Film No: 916949 item 3.
- Parish Register Printouts baptisms 1559-1640 - Film No: 933393 Item 8.
- Parish Register Printouts baptisms 1559-1837 - Film No: 1037037 Item 4.
- Parish Register Printouts baptisms 1559-1875 - Film No: 472768 Item 4.
- Parish Register Printouts baptisms 1559-1875 (2nd filming) - Film No: 1145613
Item 2.
- Bishops Transcripts. Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1681 to 1773. - Film No: 90258 Item 6.
- The Cornwall Record Office holdings: Baptisms 1559 - 1914, Burials 1559 - 1918,
Marriages 1563 - 1971, Boyd's Marriage Index 1563 - 1812, Pallot's Marriage Index 1800 - 1812.
- The Cornwall Family History
Society have published on-line transcripts of:
- Pre 1813 Marriages
- 1813-37 Marriages
- 1813-37 Burials
- Parish Registers - General. The following Parish Registers survive:
- Baptisms - 1559 to 1959. The OPC can undertake 'Lookups' - 1695 to 1841.
- Marriages - 1563 to 1959. The OPC can undertake 'Lookups' - 1563 to 1812.
- Burials - 1559 to 1959.
- Bishops Transcripts for this parish comprise:
- Baptisms - 1663 to 1773.
- Marriages - 1663 to 1773.
- Burials - 1663 to 1773.
- Other Non-Conformist Records. OPC Coverage of Non-Conformist records of this parish is available.
- On-line Parish Records.
- Baptisms.
- Baptisms 1695 to 1841 for this parish are available on-line through the OPC Search Facility - (C-PROP).
- Mawgan-in-Meneage Wesleyan Chapel baptisms 1839 to 1911 are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- The OPC has placed on-line some baptisms for this parish:
- The Cornish Forefathers' Society have published on CD baptisms 1695 to 1841 for this parish.
- Marriages.
- Burials.
- Burials 1678 to 1799 for this parish are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Burials 1813 to 1837, which is available in Book format.
- The OPC has placed on-line some burials for this parish:
Return to top of page
The parish of Mawgan-in-Meneage was originally in the Helston Registration
District; there were sub-districts at Breage, Crowan, Helston, St Keverne and
Wendron. It is now in the Kerrier Registration District. Parishes in this registration district are: Breage, Crowan, Cury, Germoe, Gunwalloe, Grade, Helston, Landewednack, Manaccan, Mawgan in Meneage, Mullion, Ruan Major, Ruan Minor, St. Anthony in Meneage, St. Keverne, St. Martin in Meneage, Sithney, Wendron.
The address of the Registration Office is: The Willows, Church Street, Helston, TR13 8NJ.
Tel: 01326 562848.
Return to top of page
- ePodunk's Cornwall page - providing general, plus some historical and genealogical information, about Cornwall and its parishes, together with links (mainly relating to general sites and services, rather than ones that are specific to Cornwall or particular parishes).
- Photographs of Mawgan-in-Meneage are available on-line.
Return to top of page
- OPC Assistance.
- The On-line Parish Clerk (OPC) scheme operates a service to help family historians; the OPC page for this parish is available on-line, from where the OPC can be contacted by email.
- There is a genealogical
website for the parish.
- Persons living in a parish but born
elsewhere are known as "Strays". Strays
found in Mawgan-in-Meneage in the 1861 Census are available on-line.
Return to top of page
The Domesday Settlements of Cornwall, a study undertaken by the Cornwall Branch of the Historical Association, has identified and located settlements listed in the Exeter and Exchequer Domesday Survey of AD 1086. The following places have been identified in Mawgan-in-Meneage ecclesiastical parish:
- Bojorrow (Bodeuuoruei, Bodeworwei, Bodouuruei), Grid Reference 706230.
- Halliggye (Heligin, Helighi), Grid Reference 713239.
- Mawgan in Meneage (Scanct' Mainian, Scant' Mawan), Grid Reference 709251.
- Trelowarren (Trelleuaret, Trellewaret, Treuueten), Grid Reference 721238.
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
Apprenticeship Indentures for Mawgan-in-Meneage (1772 - 1835) can be found
in the Cornwall Record Office.
Return to top of page
- Mawgan-in-Meneage parish was part of the Helston
Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief.
- Overseers' Accounts (1793 to 1827, 1833 to 1837), Settlement Papers (1755 to 1829) and Bastardy
records are available in the Cornwall Record Office.
Return to top of page
- Population in 1801 - 785 persons
- Population in 1811 - 800 persons
- Population in 1821 - 1050 persons
- Population in 1831 - 1094 persons
- Population in 1841 - 1084 persons
- Population in 1851 - 1010 persons
- Population in 1861 - 895 persons
- Population in 1871 - 853 persons
- Population in 1881 - 861 persons
- Population in 1891 - 752 persons
- Population in 1901 - 713 persons
|
- Population in 1911 - 690 persons
- Population in 1921 - 720 persons
- Population in 1931 - 633 persons
- Population in 1951 - 2042 persons
- Population in 1961 - 1644 persons
- Population in 1971 - 1467 persons
- Population in 1981 - 1845 persons
- Population in 1991 - 1565 persons
- Population in 2001 - 1117 persons
- Population in 2011 - 1110 persons
|
Return to top of page
The parish comprises 5453 acres of land.
Return to top of page
Find
Help, report problems, or contribute information.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI.
Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2013
[[Last updated: 28th March 2013 - Ian Argall]
Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
Copyright and Disclaimer
- The information on the GENUKI
(www.genuki.org.uk/) website must not be used for commercial
purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices,
etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI
must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm
the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers,
and hence threaten its whole future.
- Whilst we take every care to keep the information on our
web pages accurate, we disclaim any warranty or representation, express
or implied about its accuracy, completeness or appropriateness for a
particular purpose. Thus, you assume full responsibility for its use,
and you understand and agree that neither GENUKI as an organisation nor
any of its maintainers or providers are responsible or liable for any
claim, loss or damage as a consequence.
- GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites
developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only.
We do not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance,
timeliness, or completeness of such sites, and in the event
of a link to such a site being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable,
our only recourse is to remove that link.
Thank you for your cooperation. GENUKI is a registered trademark
of the charitable trust GENUKI - see
About GENUKI as an Organisation.
|