Cornwall
Contents
Nearby places
North Hill
The parish of North Hill, (Cornish: Bre Gledh), is situated in the Deanery and Hundred of East. It
is bounded on the north by Lewannick, on the east by Lezant and Linkinhorne, on
the south by Linkinhorne and St Cleer, and on the west by Alternun. North Hill
(or now more commonly spelled Northill) is a pleasant small village but
within a large parish located on the eastern edge of Bodmin Moor. The parish is
divided into east and west portions by the River Lynher. The parish occupies an
attractive hilly remote area with farming country to the east. Stone for the
construction of Westminster Bridge was quarried from this district. The
Trebartha estate, one of four farms mentioned in the Domesday Book, remained in
the possession of the same family from 1066 until 1940, when it
was sold to the Latham family. The hall was then used as an RAMC hospital
during the Second World War, but it was eventually demolished in
1948.
The principal villages of the parish are the Churchtown, Coads
Green, Bathpool, Middlewood, Congdons Shop, Illand or Yeiland, Newtown and
Trebartha.
The Cornwall Family History
Society
have published Monumental Inscriptions for the Coads Green Methodist Chapel -
673 entries.
Return to top of page
Census information for this parish (1841 - 1901) is held in the
Cornwall
Record Office. The Cornwall Family
History Society offers a census search service for its members. The Cornwall Family History Society have also published on-line census detail by surname on the FamilyHistoryonLine site.
Cornwall Legacy have published on CD all the census records for North Hill between 1841 and 1891.
Specific census information for this parish is available as follows:
Return to top of page
- 1841.
- The 1841 Census of North Hill (HO107/134), Enumeration
Districts 12 to 14, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- The 1841 census for this parish has been filmed by the LDS church - film
No. 241258.
- 1851.
- The 1851 Census of North Hill, (HO107/1899), Enumeration
Districts 3a, 3b and 3c, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- Ray Woodbine has compiled the 1851 Census for many Cornish parishes.
Entries for North Hill are contained in Volume 9-5. This is available in the
Library of the Cornwall Family History
Society from which it can be purchased.
- 1861. The 1861 Census of North Hill (RG9/1521), Enumeration
Districts 1 to 3, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- 1871.
- 1881. The 1881 Census of North Hill (RG11/2278), Enumeration
Districts 1 to 3, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- 1891. The 1891 Census of North Hill (RG12/1805), Enumeration
Districts 1 to 3, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
Return to top of page
- Anglican. The parish
church is located in OS Grid Square SX2776 and was dedicated to St Torney.
Nothing is known about this saint, whose Holy Well is situated near by the
river, except that he is also remembered at St Erney, near St Germans. It
consists of a chancel, nave, north and south aisles, the rector's vestry, and a
parochial vestry meeting room. The chancel was restored in the middle of the
19th century. The arcades each have four expansive four-centreed arches
supported on monolith granite pillars. There is a priest's door to the
chancel, and a south porch. The tower is built of granite ashlar; it has three
stages, is buttressed on the square, and is finished wioth battlements and
crocketeed pinnacles. The belfry contains six bells.
- Non-Conformist. Wesleyan Methodist
chapels were at the Churchtown, Coads Green (which had a cemetery attached),
Bathpool. The Bible Christians had chapels at Middlewood and Congdons Shop.
Return to top of page
- LDS Church Records.
- CRO. The Cornwall
Record Office holdings: Baptisms 1630 - 1979, Burials 1630 - 1959,
Marriages 1555 - 1990, Boyd's Marriage Index 1608 - 1673, BTs 1608 - 1673, North Hill Wesleyan registers 1848 - 1915.
- CFHS. The Cornwall Family History
Society have published on-line transcripts of:
- Pre-1813 Marriages
- 1813-37 Marriages
- 1813-37 Burials.
- Cornwall Legacy. Cornwall Legacy have published on CD, all the parish registers of North Hill (1555 to 1900).
- Baptisms.
- Cornwall Legacy have published on CD, baptisms (1868 to 1900) of the North Hill Wesleyan Methodist Circuit, including North Hill Chapel baptisms (1870 - 1900), and Coads Green Chapel burials (1828 to 1900).
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, records of the Launceston Bible Christian Circuit. These comprise baptisms (1841 to 1900). The areas cover Launceston, South Petherwin, North Petherwin, Lewannick, Lifton, North Hill, Germansweek, Broadwoodwidger, Werrington and Stowford.
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, records of the Launceston Wesleyan Circuit. These comprise baptisms (1837-1900). The areas cover Launceston, South Petherwin, Lewannick, North Hill, Altarnun, Linkinhorne, St Stephens, Lezant, Egloskerry, Egloskerry, Treneglos, Stoke Climsland, Laneast and Lawhitton.
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, records of the Linkinhorne Chapels. These comprise Rilla Mill Wesleyan Chapel baptisms (1841 to 1900), Lanhargy Wesleyan Chapel baptisms (1871-1900) and Darley United Methodist Chapel baptisms (1837-1900). The areas cover Linkinhorne, Breage, St Cleer, North Hill, St Ive, Stoke Climsland and South Hill.
- Marriages. The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Marriages 1555 to 1837, which is available in Book, CD or downloadable .pdf file formats.
- Burials.
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Burials 1813 to 1837, which is available in Book format.
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, records of the Launceston Wesleyan Circuit. These comprise burials (1818-1880) and St Thomas Wesleyan Burials (1842- 1892). The areas cover Launceston, South Petherwin, Lewannick, North Hill, Altarnun, Linkinhorne, St Stephens, Lezant, Egloskerry, Egloskerry, Treneglos, Stoke Climsland, Laneast and Lawhitton.
- Other Non-Conformist Records. OPC Coverage of Non-Conformist records of this parish is available.
Return to top of page
The parish of North Hill is in the Launceston
Registration District and has been since 1st July 1837. There were
sub-districts at Altarnun, Launceston, North Hill, North Petherwin and St
Stephen-by-Launceston, but these are now all closed. Parishes within the district were: Altarnun, Boyton, Egloskerry, Laneast, Launceston, Lawhitton, Lewannick, Lezant, Northill, St. Mary Magdalene, St. Stephens by Launceston, St. Thomas the Apostle, St. Thomas Street, South Petherwin, Stokeclimsland, Tremaine, Treneglos, Tresmeer, Trewen, Warbstow.
The Superintendant Registrar can be contacted at: Hendra, Dunheved Road, Launceston, PL15 9JG. Tel: 01566 772464.
Return to top of page
- ePodunk's Cornwall page - providing general, plus some historical and genealogical information, about Cornwall and its parishes, together with links (mainly relating to general sites and services, rather than ones that are specific to Cornwall or particular parishes).
- Photographs
of North Hill are available on-line.
Return to top of page
- OPC Assistance. The On-line Parish Clerk (OPC) scheme operates a service to help family historians; the OPC page for this parish is available on-line, from where the OPC can be contacted by email.
- Mailing Lists. There is a mailing list for anyone with a genealogical and or historical interest in Bodmin Moor and its surrounding villages. Villages covered are: Advent (Tresinney), Alternun, Blisland, Bodmin, Boventor, Camelford (Lanteglos), Cardinham, Davidstow, Egloshayle, Helland, Laneast, Lanteglos by Camelford, Launceston, Lewannick, Liskeard, Michaelstow, North Hill, St Breward, St Breock, St Cleer, St Clether, St Mabyn, St Neot, St Tudy, Temple, Tresinney, Trewen, Wadebridge (Egloshayle & St Breock), and Warleggan. This list is in support of the OnLine Parish Clerk system. You can also subscribe to the ENG-CON-BODMINMOOR-L for the List version, or ENG-CON-BODMINMOOR-D (digest) for the Digest version.
Return to top of page
The Domesday Settlements of Cornwall, a study undertaken by the Cornwall Branch of the Historical Association, has identified and located settlements listed in the Exeter and Exchequer Domesday Survey of AD 1086. The following places have been identified in North Hill ecclesiastical parish:
- Illand (Ellent, Heli), Grid Reference 289783.
- Landreyne (Landrei, Lander), Grid Reference 287760.
- Penhole (Polhal), Grid Reference 289763.
- Tolcarne (Talgar), Grid Reference 250784.
- Trebartha (Trb'tan, Tribertha'), Grid Reference 264773.
- Treveniel (Treuiniel, Treviniel), Grid Reference 261779.
Return to top of page
The Parliamentary Survey of the Duchy of Cornwall was undertaken in 1649 to
1650 to record and value all the lands in the Duchy that had been owned by the
Crown. A transcript of this survey with explanatory notes was published by the
Devon & Cornwall Record Society in 1982 and 1984, it was edited by NJG Pounds.
Names of persons
listed are from the manors that lie in the parishes of South Hill, North
Hill, and Stoke Climsland.
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
North Hill parish was part of the Launceston
Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief.
Return to top of page
- Population in 1801 - 782 persons
- Population in 1811 - 803 persons
- Population in 1821 - 1089 persons
- Population in 1831 - 1155 persons
- Population in 1841 - 1217 persons
- Population in 1851 - 1193 persons
- Population in 1861 - 1263 persons
- Population in 1871 - 1392 persons
- Population in 1881 - 1059 persons
- Population in 1891 - 971 persons
|
- Population in 1901 - 830 persons
- Population in 1911 - 771 persons
- Population in 1921 - 688 persons
- Population in 1931 - 696 persons
- Population in 1951 - 736 persons
- Population in 1961 - 665 persons
- Population in 1971 - 650 persons
- Population in 1981 - 760 persons
- Population in 1991 - 836 persons
- Population in 2001 - 917 persons
|
Return to top of page
In the May of 1641 it was agreed and ordered that every Member of the House
of Commons and House of Lords should make a protestation (declaration of
loyalty) to the crown. The Protestation was printed and then distributed by the
Members to their counties. The Protestation was to be made by everyone and the
Rectors, Churchwardens and Overseers of the Poor, had to appear before the
Justices of the Peace in their Hundred to make their protestation and, on
returning to their parishes, any two of them were to witness the taking of the
Protestation Oath by all males over the age of 18 years. All names were listed
and anyone who refused was to be noted.
The
Protestation Returns of 1642 for North Hill are no longer available on-line.
Return to top of page
The parish comprises 7235 acres of land and 25 acres of water.
Return to top of page
Find
Help, report problems, or contribute information.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI.
Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2008
[Last updated: 6th July 2008 - Ian Argall]
Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
Copyright and Disclaimer
- The information on the GENUKI
(www.genuki.org.uk) website must not be used for commercial
purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices,
etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI
must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm
the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers,
and hence threaten its whole future.
- Whilst we take every care to keep the information on our
web pages accurate, we disclaim any warranty or representation, express
or implied about its accuracy, completeness or appropriateness for a
particular purpose. Thus, you assume full responsibility for its use,
and you understand and agree that neither GENUKI as an organisation nor
any of its maintainers or providers are responsible or liable for any
claim, loss or damage as a consequence.
- GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites
developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only.
We do not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance,
timeliness, or completeness of such sites, and in the event
of a link to such a site being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable,
our only recourse is to remove that link.
Thank you for your cooperation. GENUKI is a registered trademark
of the charitable trust GENUKI - see
About GENUKI as an Organisation.
|