"TAMERTON, NORTH (ST. DENIS), a parish, in the union of
HOLSWORTHY, hundred of STRATTON, E. division of CORNWALL, 5 miles (S.S.W.) from
Holsworthy; containing 589 inhabitants. The parish
comprises 4775 acres, of which 450 are common or waste; the surface is in
general hilly; the soil, though various, is for the most part a poor clayey
earth. The River Tamar and the Bude canal run through the parish, parallel with
each other, from north to south. The living is a donative curacy; net income,
£230; patrons, R.P. Coffin, Esq., and the Heirs of the late Colonel
l'Ans; the glebe contains about 20 acres. There is a delapidated chapel at Hornacut." [From
Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1844)]
The parish of Tamerton is called North Tamerton, (Cornish: Tre war Damer), to distinguish it from Tamerton
Folliot in Devon. It is situated in the Hundred of Stratton and Deanery of
Trigg Major. The parish is bounded on the north by the detached part of Devon
called Bridgerule, and by the parish of Pyworth in Devon, on the east by the
Devon parishes of Clawton, Tetcot and Luffincot, on the south by Boyton, and on
the west by Week St Mary and Whitstone. This thinly-populated parish is in
North Cornwall right on the Devonshire border. It was the only parish in
Cornwall that extended onto the east of the River Tamar.
The name is of
English origin, meaning 'estate on the River Tamar'. The village and its
15th century church stand above the River Tamar. There was no Churchtown, and
the only village was Ragged Hill.
The Cornwall Family History
have published Monumental Inscriptions for the Parish Church
In general, the parish of North Tamerton has been enumerated as part of Devon. However, Census information for this parish (1841 - 1901) is held in the Cornwall Record Office.
The Cornwall Family
History Society offers a census search service for its
members. The Cornwall Family History Society have also published on-line census detail by surname on the FamilyHistoryonLine site.
Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the
Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford,
Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish].
Specific census information for this parish is available as follows:
- 1841. The 1841 Census of North Tamerton (HO107/151), Enumeration
Districts 6 and 7, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
- 1851. The 1851 Census of North Tamerton (HO107/1896), Enumeration
Districts 5a and 5b, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
- 1861. In 1861, North Tamerton was enumerated as part of the Holdsworthy Registration District (Clawton sub-district), in Devon. The 1861 Census of North Tamerton (RG9/1511), Enumeration
Districts 3 and 4, is also available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
- 1871. In 1871, North Tamerton was enumerated as part of the Holsworthy Registration District, Clawton sub-district, of Devon. The census was published as part of RG10/2213, as Enumeration Districts 3 and 4.
- In 1881, North Tamerton was enumerated as part of the Holsworthy Registration District, Clawton sub-district, of Devon. The census was published as part of RG11/2268.
- The 1881 Census of the UK can be searched on-line courtesy of familySearch.org.
- 1891. In 1891, North Tamerton was enumerated as part of Clawton in the Holsworthy Registration District of Devon.
- Anglican. The parish church is located in OS Grid Square SX3197 and was dedicated to St Denis. It consists of a chancel, nave, and south aisle. The arcade has five depressed four-centred arches supported on monolith granite pillars. The
entrances are a south porch and a north door. The tower is built of granite
ashlar. It is 72 feet in height, is battlemented and finished with octagonal,
crocketed pinnacles 18 feet in height. The belfry contains five bells.
Details about the plans of the modern church are available on-line.
- Non-Conformist. There was a Bible Christian chapel built on Way Farm in 1869.
- Parish Church Registers. The parish church registers of North Tamerton, unusually, continued throughout the Commonwealth
period of 1645 - 1660. The register of marriages date from November 1542, the
register of baptisms from November 1556, and the register of burials from May
1562. According to Peskett, the original registers, dating from 1556,
were, in 1979, still with the incumbent.
- LDS Church Records.
- The LDS Church batch numbers for North Tamerton are: C052961, C021572, E052961, M021571, P052961. These are searchable by surname.
- The IGI coverage of this parish is 1542 - 1837; there is nothing entered into the IGI under Devon (as of Jan 1993).
- The Cornwall Record Office holdings: Baptisms 1560 - 1865, Burials 1560 - 1937,
Marriages 1560 - 1962, Boyd's Marriage Index 1597 - 1673, BTs 1597 - 1673.
- The Cornwall Family History
Society have published on-line transcripts of:
- Pre-1813 Marriages
- 1813-37 Marriages
- 1813-37 Burials
- Banns. Banns 1824 to 1897 for this parish are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- Marriages 1679 to 1772 (Bishop's transcripts) for this parish are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Marriages 1542 to 1837, which is available in Book, CD or downloadable .pdf file formats.
- Burials 1679 to 1772 (Bishop's transcripts), and 1813 to 1900 (parish transcripts), for this parish are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Burials 1813 to 1837, which is available in Book format.
The parish of North Tamerton was originally in the Clawton, sub-district of the Holsworthy Registration
District of Devon from 1837 to 1844; it was still enumerated under those arrangements until after the 1861 census. It is now in the Stratton
Registration District of Cornwall. Parishes within the district are: Jacobstow, Kilkhampton, Launcells, Marhamchurch, Morwenstow, Poughill, Poundstock, St. Gennys, Stratton, Stratton and Bude, Week St. Mary, Whitstone.
The Superintendant Registrar can be contacted at: The Parkhouse Centre, Ergue Gaberic Way, Bude, EX23 8LF. Tel: 01288 353209.
- ePodunk's Cornwall page - providing general, plus some historical and genealogical information, about Cornwall and its parishes, together with links (mainly relating to general sites and services, rather than ones that are specific to Cornwall or particular parishes).
of North Tamerton are available on-line.
OPC Assistance. The On-line Parish Clerk (OPC) scheme operates a service to help family historians; the OPC page for this parish is available on-line, from where the OPC can be contacted by email.
The Domesday Settlements of Cornwall, a study undertaken by the Cornwall Branch of the Historical Association, has identified and located settlements listed in the Exeter and Exchequer Domesday Survey of AD 1086. The following places have been identified in North Tamerton ecclesiastical parish:
- North Tamerton parish was part of the Stratton
Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief.
- Overseers' Accounts (1821 to 1840) are available in the Cornwall
- Population in 1801 - 403 persons
- Population in 1811 - 420 persons
- Population in 1821 - 479 persons
- Population in 1831 - 517 persons
- Population in 1841 - 589 persons
- Population in 1851 - 516 persons
- Population in 1861 - 486 persons
- Population in 1871 - 469 persons
- Population in 1881 - 469 persons
- Population in 1891 - 430 persons
- Population in 1901 - 329 persons
- Population in 1911 - 325 persons
- Population in 1921 - 344 persons
- Population in 1931 - 323 persons
- Population in 1951 - 301 persons
- Population in 1961 - 259 persons
- Population in 1971 - 269 persons
- Population in 1981 - 275 persons
- Population in 1991 - 274 persons
- Population in 2001 - 288 persons
- Population in 2011 - 356 persons
The parish comprises 5904 acres of land, one acre of water and 77 acres of
Return to top of page
Help, report problems, or contribute information.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI.
Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2013
[Last updated: 29th March 2013 - Ian Argall]
Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
Copyright and Disclaimer
- The information on the GENUKI
(www.genuki.org.uk/) website must not be used for commercial
purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices,
etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI
must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm
the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers,
and hence threaten its whole future.
- Whilst we take every care to keep the information on our
web pages accurate, we disclaim any warranty or representation, express
or implied about its accuracy, completeness or appropriateness for a
particular purpose. Thus, you assume full responsibility for its use,
and you understand and agree that neither GENUKI as an organisation nor
any of its maintainers or providers are responsible or liable for any
claim, loss or damage as a consequence.
- GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites
developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only.
We do not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance,
timeliness, or completeness of such sites, and in the event
of a link to such a site being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable,
our only recourse is to remove that link.
Thank you for your cooperation. GENUKI is a registered trademark
of the charitable trust GENUKI - see
About GENUKI as an Organisation.