GENUKI Home page UpCornwall  Contents Contents   Nearby PlacesNearby places

Ruan Lanihorne

The parish of Ruan Lanihorne, (Cornish: Lannrihorn), (Ruan-Lanyhorne, or Ruanlanihorne) is situated in the Deanery and Hundred of Powder. It is bounded on the north by the River Fal, which separates it from Cornelly, on the east by Veryan, on the south by Philleigh, and on the west by Philleigh and the Fal, which here separates it from Lamorran. 'Ruan' refers to St Ruan or Rumon, patron saint of the local church. This partially wooded and mainly agricultural parish is on the banks of the River Fal, which connects to the sea via Carrick Roads and via river to Truro to the north-west. The local lord of the manor built a castle here in medieval times to guard the river crossing, but there is little trace of it remaining today.

In the 19th century silt was unloaded to make bricks at Trelonk and a passenger ferry service to Truro existed for the population of the Roseland peninsula. Today it is a quiet residential village. Besides the Churchtown, the other villages are Ruan High Lanes and Treworga.

Most parish and church description(s) on these pages are from Lake's Parochial History of the County of Cornwall by J Polsue (Truro, 1867 - 1873)


The Cornwall Family History Society have published Monumental Inscriptions for the Parish Church - 336 entries.


Census information for parishes in this town (1841 - 1901) is held in the Cornwall Record Office. The Cornwall Family History Society offers a census search service for its members. The Cornwall Family History Society have also published on-line census detail by surname on the FamilyHistoryonLine site.

Specific census information for this parish is available as follows:

Church History

Church Records

Civil Registration

The parish of Ruan Lanihorne has been in the Truro Registration District continuously from 1st July 1837. There were sub-districts at Kea, Kenwyn, Probus, St. Agnes, St. Clement and St Just-in-Roseland, but these have now been abolished. Parishes in this registration district are: Cornelly, Cuby, Feock, Gerrans, Kea, Kenwyn, Ladock, Lamorran, Merther, Perranzabuloe, Philleigh, Probus, Ruan Lanihorne, St. Agnes, St. Allen, St. Anthony in Roseland, St. Clement, St. Erme, St. Feock, St. Just in Roseland, St. Michael Penkevil, Tregavethan, Tregony St. James, Truro St. Mary, Veryan.

The address of the Registration Office is: Dalvenie House, New County Hall, Truro, TR1 3AY.
Tel: 01872 322241.

Description & Travel



Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Ruan Lanihorne parish was part of the Truro Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief.


  • Population in 1801 - 329 persons
  • Population in 1811 - 328 persons
  • Population in 1821 - 376 persons
  • Population in 1831 - 424 persons
  • Population in 1841 - 444 persons
  • Population in 1851 - 410 persons
  • Population in 1861 - 325 persons
  • Population in 1871 - 360 persons
  • Population in 1881 - 325 persons
  • Population in 1891 - 301 persons
  • Population in 1901 - 254 persons
  • Population in 1911 - 248 persons
  • Population in 1921 - 211 persons
  • Population in 1931 - 210 persons
  • Population in 1951 - 197 persons
  • Population in 1961 - 242 persons
  • Population in 1971 - 248 persons
  • Population in 1981 - 255 persons
  • Population in 1991 - 266 persons
  • Population in 2001 - 250 persons
  • Population in 2011 - 252 persons

Religion and Religious Life

In the May of 1641 it was agreed and ordered that every Member of the House of Commons and House of Lords should make a protestation (declaration of loyalty) to the crown. The Protestation was printed and then distributed by the Members to their counties. The Protestation was to be made by everyone and the Rectors, Churchwardens and Overseers of the Poor, had to appear before the Justices of the Peace in their Hundred to make their protestation and, on returning to their parishes, any two of them were to witness the taking of the Protestation Oath by all males over the age of 18 years. All names were listed and anyone who refused was to be noted.

The Protestation Returns of 1642 for Ruan Lanihorne are available on-line.


The parish comprises 2228 acres of land.


The Hearth Tax entries for Ruan Lanihorne (1660-1664) are available on-line.

Find Help, report problems, or contribute information.
Valid HTML 4.0! GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI. Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2013
[Last updated: 29th March 2013 - Ian Argall]

Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.

Copyright and Disclaimer

  • The information on the GENUKI ( website must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future.

  • Whilst we take every care to keep the information on our web pages accurate, we disclaim any warranty or representation, express or implied about its accuracy, completeness or appropriateness for a particular purpose. Thus, you assume full responsibility for its use, and you understand and agree that neither GENUKI as an organisation nor any of its maintainers or providers are responsible or liable for any claim, loss or damage as a consequence.

  • GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only. We do not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, or completeness of such sites, and in the event of a link to such a site being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable, our only recourse is to remove that link.

Thank you for your cooperation. GENUKI is a registered trademark of the charitable trust GENUKI - see About GENUKI as an Organisation.