GENUKI Home page UpCornwall  Contents Contents   Nearby PlacesNearby places

St Erme

[View a zoomable and navigable Map of the Area provided by Multimap.]

St Erme, (Cornish: Egloserm), is situated in the Deanery and Hundred of Powder. It is bounded on the north by Newlyn East, on the east by Ladock and Probus, on the south by St Clement, and on the west by St Allen. A detached portion of the parish, comprising the Manor of Polsue, is bounded by the parishes of Probus and St Clement, and St Clement's Creek. The parish is named after St Hermes, a 3rd century Roman martyr. In was in this parish, at Tresillian Bridge, that a treaty was concluded in March 1646 between Sir Ralph Hopton and Sir Thomas Fairfax, by which Cornwall was surrendered to Parliament at the end of the English Civil War.

This parish is four miles north of Truro, sandwiched between the parishes of St Allen and Ladock. The main village is St Erme with Trispen, which is actually composed of two neigbouring villages, St Erme and Trispen. At one time St Erme had the church, school and village hall while Trispen had the pub, post office, and chapel. Agriculture no longer provides the main employment and the area has become a dormitory area for Truro.

Villages in this parish are the Churchtowns, Trispen (or Trevispen), and Stairfoot.


The Cornwall Family History Society have published Monumental Inscriptions for the Parish Church - 366 entries.


Census information for this parish (1841 - 1901) is held in the Cornwall Record Office. The Cornwall Family History Society offers a census search service for its members. The Cornwall Family History Society have also published on-line census detail by surname on the FamilyHistoryonLine site.

Specific census information for this parish is available as follows:

Church History

Church Records

Civil Registration

The parish of St Erme has been in the Truro Registration District continuously from 1st July 1837. There were sub-districts at Kea, Kenwyn, Probus, St. Agnes, St. Clement and St Just-in-Roseland, but these have now been abolished. Parishes in this registration district are: Cornelly, Cuby, Feock, Gerrans, Kea, Kenwyn, Ladock, Lamorran, Merther, Perranzabuloe, Philleigh, Probus, Ruan Lanihorne, St. Agnes, St. Allen, St. Anthony in Roseland, St. Clement, St. Erme, St. Feock, St. Just in Roseland, St. Michael Penkevil, Tregavethan, Tregony St. James, Truro St. Mary, Veryan.

The address of the Registration Office is: Dalvenie House, New County Hall, Truro, TR1 3AY.
Tel: 01872 322241.

Description & Travel


OPC Assistance. The On-line Parish Clerk (OPC) scheme operates a service to help family historians; the OPC page for this parish is available on-line, from where the OPC can be contacted by email.

Historical Geography

The Domesday Settlements of Cornwall, a study undertaken by the Cornwall Branch of the Historical Association, has identified and located settlements listed in the Exeter and Exchequer Domesday Survey of AD 1086. The following places have been identified in St Erme ecclesiastical parish:



Apprenticeship Indentures for St Erme (1766 - 1819) can be found in the Cornwall Record Office.

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.


  • Population in 1801 - 358 persons
  • Population in 1811 - 431 persons
  • Population in 1821 - 561 persons
  • Population in 1831 - 586 persons
  • Population in 1841 - 552 persons
  • Population in 1851 - 625 persons
  • Population in 1861 - 554 persons
  • Population in 1871 - 560 persons
  • Population in 1881 - 507 persons
  • Population in 1891 - 462 persons
  • Population in 1901 - 494 persons
  • Population in 1911 - 365 persons
  • Population in 1921 - 378 persons
  • Population in 1931 - 373 persons
  • Population in 1951 - 715 persons
  • Population in 1961 - 1205 persons
  • Population in 1971 - 1220 persons
  • Population in 1981 - 1210 persons
  • Population in 1991 - 1255 persons
  • Population in 2001 - 1215 persons
  • Population in 2011 - 1363 persons


The parish comprises 4256 acres of land.

Return to top of page

Find Help, report problems, or contribute information.
Valid HTML 4.0! GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI. Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2013
[Last updated: 29th March 2013 - Ian Argall]

Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.

Copyright and Disclaimer

  • The information on the GENUKI ( website must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future.

  • Whilst we take every care to keep the information on our web pages accurate, we disclaim any warranty or representation, express or implied about its accuracy, completeness or appropriateness for a particular purpose. Thus, you assume full responsibility for its use, and you understand and agree that neither GENUKI as an organisation nor any of its maintainers or providers are responsible or liable for any claim, loss or damage as a consequence.

  • GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only. We do not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, or completeness of such sites, and in the event of a link to such a site being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable, our only recourse is to remove that link.

Thank you for your cooperation. GENUKI is a registered trademark of the charitable trust GENUKI - see About GENUKI as an Organisation.