Cornwall
Contents
Nearby places
Talland
The parish of Talland, (Cornish: Tallann), is situated in the Deanery and Hundred of West; it is
bounded on the north by Pelynt and Duloe, on the east by the estuary of the
River Duloe which separates it from St Martin's-by-Looe, on the south by the
English Channel, and on the west by Lansallos and Pelynt. Talland is located on
the south coast of Cornwall at the head of Talland Bay, between Polperro to the
west, and West Looe to east, and surrounded by beautiful cliff scenery. A short
distance to the north is the village of Pelynt. According to O.J.Padel, the
name is probably derived from tal-lann, meaning a 'hill-brow church
site'. The
Saint Talland, to whom the church is dedicated, was an invention of the 15th
century. Despite its peaceful appearance today it has many stories of
smugglers and shipwrecks in the past. One Parson Dodge who was involved in
smuggling in the 18th century kept the lanes clear at night by spreading tales
of demons and ghosts. John Bevill, sheriff of Cornwall in the 16th century,
lived at the nearby former manor house of Killigarth.
The main town of the parish is Polperro. The town of Polperro itself used to be divided between the two parishes of Lansallos and Talland by the River Pol,though in 1875 the boundaries were re-drawn and the whole of Polperro is now entirely within Talland
ecclesiastical parish.
Return to top of page
Census information for this parish (1841 - 1901) is held in the
Cornwall Record Office. The Cornwall Family
History Society offers a census search service for its members. The Cornwall Family History Society have also published on-line census detail by surname on the FamilyHistoryonLine site.
Specific census information for this parish is available as follows:
- 1841. The 1841 Census of Talland (HO107/153) Enumeration
Districts 9 and 10, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- 1851. The 1851 Census of Talland & Polperro (HO107/1903), Enumeration
Districts 6a and 6b, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- 1861. The 1861 Census of Talland (RG9/1531), Enumeration
Districts 6 and 7, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- 1871. The 1871 Census of Talland (RG10/2242), Enumeration
Districts 6 and 7, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- 1881. The 1881 Census of Talland (RG11/2287), Enumeration
Districts 6, 7 and 8 [Looe Island], is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- 1891. The 1891 Census of Talland (RG12/1812), Enumeration
Districts 6 and 7, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
Return to top of page
- Anglican. There are two Anglican churches in Talland parish:
- Parish Church. The Talland parish church
is located in OS Grid Square SX2251 and was dedicated to St Tallanus. St.
Tallanus was the name of the hermit who made his home here sometime in the
fifth century AD. The name "Talland" is thought to be derived from this name,
although it is suggestive also of the Cornish "Tal Lan" which means the Holy
Place (lan) on the brow of the hill (tal). As the Church is on the side rather
than the brow of the hill, this may be just coincidence.
The church
consists of a chancel, nave, south aisle called Killygarth aisle, and a north
transept. In the course of the summer of 1848, the church was extensively
renovated. The arcade consists of six four-centred arches supported on monolith
granite pillars. There is a south porch and a transept or vestry door. The
porch has two lateral entrances, the southern end being attached to the tower,
to which is forms a covered way. The tower has three stages and is 55 feet in
height, its south wall resting on a rock 25 feet above the level of the church.
It is buttressed and embattled, and the belfry contains six bells.
Details about the plans of the modern church are available on-line. Further information on Talland Church is available.
- Polperro. St. John the Baptist Church is located in Polperro (OS Grid Square SX2050); as its name implies, it is dedicated to St John the Baptist. It was built in 1838 by the then Rector of Lansallos, to enable the villagers, and particularly the fishing community, to have easier access to worship. This church was built on a plot of land clinging to the valley side, and is reached by climbing Little Laney, a fairly steep but mercifully short path from Lansallos Street. The church seats just under a hundred people, although it has
held far more than that for some services.
Between 1812 and 1813 a fraudster came as curate at Talland, and performed services illegally. When the news of the former curate's real identity reached Polperro, there was considerable consternation for he had officiated at many baptisms, marriage ceremonies and funerals during his time at Talland. Seven couples who had been married by the bogus curate came back to be married again, fearing their first ceremony had been invalid and they were 'living in sin'. The parents of eight babies baptised by the 'Rev. Mr. Whitmore' between July and November 1812 brought them back to be baptised afresh. (The vicar, Nicholas Kendall, wrote a note in the Talland parish register explaining the double entries: "..it being suspected that Mr. Whitmore, the late curate of this parish, was not a minister of the Church of England."). The full story of this situation is available on-line.
- Non-Conformist. It is currently not clear what the arrangements in Talland were for Non-Conformists.
Return to top of page
- LDS Church Records.
- The Cornwall Record Office holdings: Baptisms 1653 - 1882, Burials 1653 - 1978,
Marriages 1653 - 1988, Boyd's Marriage Index 1617 - 1673, Pallot's Marriage Index 1790 - 1812, BTs 1617 - 1673, Non-Conformist records 1818 - 1837.
- The Cornwall Family History
Society have published on-line transcripts of:
- 1813-37 Marriages.
- 1813-37 Burials.
- Other Non-Conformist Records. OPC Coverage of Non-Conformist records of this parish is available.
- Baptisms.
- Baptisms 1685 to 1773 (BTs with gaps), and 1813 to 1911, in this parish are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- Baptisms for the Polperro Wesleyan Church 1818 to 1837 are available on-line through the OPC search Facility (C-PROP).
- Pallot's Baptism Index (1780-1837) of Talland parish is on-line courtesy of Ancestry.com. However, the link requires a subscription to Ancestry.
- The Parish Chest have published on CD baptisms 1735 to 1840 for this parish.
- Cornwall Legacy have published on CD, records of the Liskeard Bible Christian Circuit. These comprise baptisms (1837 to 1863). The areas cover Liskeard, St Ive, St Cleer, Altarnun, Menheniot, St Neot, Broadoak, Talland and certain other parishes.
- Cornwall Legacy have published on CD, records of the Liskeard Wesleyan Circuit. These comprise baptisms 1834 to 1900. The areas cover Liskeard, Boconnoc, Broadoak, Callington, Linkinhorne, Looe, Menheniot, Morval, Pelynt, Quethiock, St Germans, St Ive, St Martins, St Neot, St Pinnock, St Veep, St Winnow, South Hill and Talland.
- Cornwall Legacy have published on CD, records of the Looe Bible Christian Circuit. These comprise baptisms 1848 to 1900. The areas cover Looe, St Keyne, St Pinnock, Lansallos, Talland St Veep, Duloe, Liskeard, Lanreath, Boconnoc, Pelynt, St Martins, and Polperro.
- Banns. Banns 1824 to 1910 for this parish are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- Marriages.
- Burials.
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Burials 1813 to 1837, which is available in Book format.
- Burials 1685 to 1773 (Bishops transcripts), and 1672 to 1936 (parish registers), in this parish are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (CPROP).
Return to top of page
The parish of Talland was in the Liskeard Registration District. There were sub-districts at Callington, Lerrin,
Liskeard and Looe, but these closed in the 1930's. Parishes within the district are: Boconnoc, Broadoak, Callington, Calstock (1837-60), Duloe, East Looe, Lanreath, Lansallos, Lanteglos, Linkinhorne, Liskeard, Liskeard Borough, Menheniot, Morval, Pelynt, St. Cleer, St. Dominick, St. Ive, St. Keyne, St. Martin's, St. Neot, St. Pinnock, St. Veep, Southill, Talland and West Looe. The Superintendant Registrar can be contacted at: Graylands, Dean Street, Liskeard, PL14 4AH. Tel: 01579 343442.
Return to top of page
- ePodunk's Cornwall page - providing general, plus some historical and genealogical information, about Cornwall and its parishes, together with links (mainly relating to general sites and services, rather than ones that are specific to Cornwall or particular parishes).
- Photographs
of Talland are available on-line.
- Some additional information and more photographs of Talland Bay are also available.
Return to top of page
- OPC Assistance. The On-line Parish Clerk (OPC) scheme operates a service to help family historians; the OPC page for this parish is available on-line, from where the OPC can be contacted by email.
- Polperro Families. Because of its isolated situation, the indigenous families living within the two parishes, Talland and Lansallos, tended to inter-marry among themselves
until the 19th century thus making it easier for family historians to trace
their Polperro ancestors. In addition, a remarkable record of over 50 Polperro
family pedigrees was compiled at the beginning of the 20th century by a local
historian, Frank Perrycoste. A copy of his work is now deposited with the
Polperro Heritage Museum; extracts can be viewed on microfiche and copies
obtained.
- Compiled
information on local families is available on-line.
Return to top of page
A webpage giving short histories of all the most famous and celebrated people of Polperro is available on-line.
Return to top of page
The Domesday Settlements of Cornwall, a study undertaken by the Cornwall Branch of the Historical Association, has identified and located settlements listed in the Exeter and Exchequer Domesday Survey of AD 1086. The following places have been identified in Talland ecclesiastical parish:
Return to top of page
Return to top of page
- Talland parish was part of the Liskeard
Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief.
- Overseers' Accounts (1695 to 1784) are availabe in the Cornwall Record Office.
Return to top of page
Talland civil parish was abolished 1934; the area was distributed between
Looe and Lansallos parishes.
- Population in 1801 - 760 persons
- Population in 1811 - 801 persons
- Population in 1821 - 839 persons
- Population in 1831 - 841 persons
- Population in 1841 - 834 persons
- Population in 1851 - 859 persons
- Population in 1861 - 800 persons
|
- Population in 1871 - 830 persons
- Population in 1881 - 778 persons
- Population in 1891 - 776 persons
- Population in 1901 - 794 persons
- Population in 1911 - 730 persons
- Population in 1921 - 704 persons
- Population in 1931 - 765 persons
|
Return to top of page
The parish comprised 2569 acres of land.
Return to top of page
The Polperro Family
History Society has recently been formed. Members of the Society have
special access to the exclusive Members' area on thier website which include
a Message Board for exchanging information and contact details for other
members. In addition, the Society publishes a Journal for members twice a year.
The first issue, published in October 2002, contained a number of articles
about Polperro families, a contact list and other useful information.
A
Membership
Application Form is available. For further details, you can email the Society.
Return to top of page
Find
Help, report problems, or contribute information.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI.
Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2012
[Last updated: 26th March 2012 - Ian Argall]
Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
Copyright and Disclaimer
- The information on the GENUKI
(www.genuki.org.uk/) website must not be used for commercial
purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices,
etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI
must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm
the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers,
and hence threaten its whole future.
- Whilst we take every care to keep the information on our
web pages accurate, we disclaim any warranty or representation, express
or implied about its accuracy, completeness or appropriateness for a
particular purpose. Thus, you assume full responsibility for its use,
and you understand and agree that neither GENUKI as an organisation nor
any of its maintainers or providers are responsible or liable for any
claim, loss or damage as a consequence.
- GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites
developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only.
We do not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance,
timeliness, or completeness of such sites, and in the event
of a link to such a site being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable,
our only recourse is to remove that link.
Thank you for your cooperation. GENUKI is a registered trademark
of the charitable trust GENUKI - see
About GENUKI as an Organisation.
|