ASHBOURNE, Derbyshire
Bibliography
- Porter, Lyndsey - The Spirit of Asbourne: 2. Landmark Publishing Ltd., 2002. ISBN 1-84306-065-5.
Return to top of page
Census
- The parish was in the Ashbourne sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1851 | H.O. 107 / 2150 |
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2519 thru 2521 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2753 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Oswald.
- Most of the church was originally constructed in 1241, replacing an earlier Saxon and Norman structure.
- King Charles attended devine services in this church in 1645.
- The church was repewed and renovated in 1840.
- The church was restored in 1845.
- The church has its own website.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- The Anglican parish registers exist from 1538.
- We have a pop-up window of an extract of
Ashbourne burials in a text file for your review. Your additions are welcomed.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Ashbourne.
- The Sion Independent Chapel on Derby Road was built in 1800.
- The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel in Compton was built in 1822.
- The Primitive Methodist Chapel on Union Street was built in 1846.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Ashbourne sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
Return to top of page
Correctional Institutions
- The New Prison, or Lock-up, was built in Union Street in 1844. It only had 4 cells.
- It is not known to the web-page author if any records remain for this facility.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"ASHBOURN is a market town in the parish of its name, which is partly in the hundred of Appletree, and partly in that of Wirksworth; 139 miles N.N.W. from London, 46 S.E. from Manchester, 13 N.W. from Derby, and 9 S.W. from Wirksworth. The town is situate in an interesting part of the country, rather hilly, and well wooded - interspersed with rich valleys, productive meadows, and clear streams - amongst the latter is Compton brook, famous for its trout, and as having contributed to the sport of the poetical anglers, Walton and Cotton."
[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]
The parish is 146 miles north of London and covers 10,167 acres. Visit Ashbourne Town on the Internet for current events.
Return to top of page
Gazetteers
- The transcription of the section for Ashbourne from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
Return to top of page
History
- In the 1086 Domesday Book this place is listed as "Esseburn".
- The town received its Market Charter in 1257.
- A large part of the land was used for grazing in the 19th century and cheesemaking was a major industry in the area.
- The Gas Works on Machester Road were built in 1840 and expanded in 1852.
- Ashbourn County Court started operation on 15 March, 1847 and held its sessions at the Green Man Inn each month.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This place was an ancient township and parish in Derby county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- This parish was partly in the ancient Wirksworth Hundred (or Wapentake).
Return to top of page
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
- Bastardy cases were heard at the Petty Sessional Hearings at the Green Man Inn every Saturday.
- With the passage of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became the center of the Ashbourn Poorlaw Union.
Return to top of page
Schools
- A grammar school on Church Street at Ashbourne was founded in 1585 under the will
of Sir Thomas COCKAYNE, with William BRADBURN and others; now known as
Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School.
- "It is also probable that a school - perhaps (a) chantry school
- had also been founded prior to the Reformation at Ashbourne."
(Ref: A History of Derbyshire, Gladwyn Turbutt, 1999). - There was also another Free School on Church Street endowed in 1710 by Nicholas SPALDIN.
- A National School existed here in 1857 just north of the church.
- A large Infant School existed here in 1857 on Back Lane. It held about 100 children.