We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Ballidon

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Hartington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.

  • Starting in 1901, the parish was reassigned to the Brassington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.

  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:

Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2523
1891 R.G. 12 / 2755

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ballidon area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish chapel was dedicated to All Saints.

  • The chapel is apparently early Norman in origin, probably from the 12th century.

  • The church was refloored and renovated in 1837.

  • The church was thoroughly restored and almost entirely rebuilt in 1882-83.

  • The church is a Grade II listed building with British Heritage.

  • The last service was held on 18 April, 2003. The church is now considered redundant.

  • The church only seats 82.

  • The church is under the care of the Friends of Friendless Churches.

  • Ralph MILLS has a photograph of All Saints Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2005.

Church Records

  • Search the Bradborne parish registers.

  • The church was in the rural deanery of Ashborne.

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

  • The parish was in the Hartington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.

  • Starting in 1901, the parish was reassigned to the Brassington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.

Description and Travel

"BALLIDON, a chapelry in the parish of Bradborne, and hundred of Wirksworth, in the county of Derby, 5 miles to the W. of Wirksworth. Ashmore [Ed: sic. Probably intended to read 'Ashbourne'] is its post town. The living is a curacy attached to the vicarage of Bradborne, in the diocese of Lichfield. The chapelry is included in the honour of Tutbury, duchy of Lancaster, and within the jurisdiction of the Tutbury court for the recovery of small debts."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin HINSON ©2003]

You can see pictures of Ballidon which are provided by:

Directories

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ballidon has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK204544 (Lat/Lon: 53.086413, -1.696877), Ballidon which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient township and chapelry in Bradbourne parish in Derbyshire and became a separate modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.

  • This parish was in the ancient Wirksworth Hundred (or Wapentake).

  • Today's local governance is provided by the Ballidon and Bradbourne Council.

  • Today's district governance is provided by the Derbyshire Dales District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases were heard at the Petty Sessional Hearings at the Green Man Inn in Ashbourne every Saturday.

  • As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms, the parish joined the Ashbourne Poorlaw Union.
We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Inactive - No maintenance is being performed. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact the GENUKI trustees.