BOULTON, Derbyshire
Census
- The parish was in the Shardlow sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2490 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2721 & 2722 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- This place was a chapelry of St. Peter's Church in Derby.
- The chapel is dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary.
- The chapel was built around 1090.
- The chapel is a small Norman structure.
- The chapel was extended by 12 feet in 1840 and the rest of the fabric of the building was thoroughly repaired.
- The chapel was again restored in 1871.
- The chapel seats 420.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- The Anglican parish registers date from 1614, but are partly included in Alvaston.
- Marriages at Boulton, 1756-1812 are available in Nigel Batty-Smith's
database of scanned images of
Phillimore's Parish Registers.
- The London Family History Centre has "Boulton marriages, 1756 to 1812" on microfilm, as well as the Bishop's Transcripts for 1662 - 1880.
- The chapel is in the rural deanery of Melbourne.
- The Primitive Methodists built a chapel here before 1891.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Shardlow sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"BOULTON, a chapelry in the parish of Derby St. Peter, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, in the county of Derby, 3 miles to the S.E. of Derby. The Midland railway and the Derby canal pass near it. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Lichfield, of the value of £120, in the patronage of the landholders. The church is old, and partly in the Norman style."
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of
Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Today the parish is part of the conurbation of Derby city.
Return to top of page
Directories
- Ann Andrews provides a transcription of the Boulton entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).
Return to top of page
History
- Transcription of section of Lysons' Topographical and Historical Account of Derbyshire, 1817, for Boulton by Barbarann Ayars.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This parish was in the ancient Morleston and Litchurch Hundred (or Wapentake).
Return to top of page
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
- The Common Land was enclosed here in 1802.
- The London Family History Centre has "Boulton Poor law records, 1720-1795" on microfilm.