BRIMINGTON, Derbyshire
Cemeteries
- The Brimington Cemetery was created in 1878 on four acres with two mortuary chapels.
- The cemetery was under the control of the Burial Board of the parish council.
- The London Family History Centre has a transcript of the memorial inscriptions (undated). their microfilm was made in 1995. They also have the cemetery records for 1878 - 1997.
- There is a photograph of one of the chapels in the cemetery at Panoramio.
Return to top of page
Census
- The parish was in the Chesterfield sub-district of the Chesterfield Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2531 & 2532 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2764 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Michael and All Angels.
- The ancient church was taken down in 1808 and completely rebuilt with the exception of the tower, previously rebuilt in 1796.
- The present church was built in 1847.
- The church seats 550.
- The church sports its own Web site with more information about the church.
- A Mission Church was built in Brimington Common in 1875.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- The Anglican parish register dates from 1675. Some older records exist as copies of originals.
- The London Family History Centre has the parish registers for 1813 through 1956 on microfilm.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Chesterfield.
- The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1806.
- The Primitive Methodists built a chapel here in 1835.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Chesterfield sub-district of the Chesterfield Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"BRIMINGTON is a township in the parish of Chesterfield, about 2 miles N. by E. from that town; it contains a chapel under the establishment (rebuilt in 1808), and a meeting-house for dissenters. The Chesterfield canal passes through the township - which contained, in 1831, 759 inhabitants."
[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]
Return to top of page
Directories
- Ann Andrews provides a transcription of the Brimington entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).
Return to top of page
Gazetteers
- The transcription of the section for Brimington from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
Return to top of page
History
- The section of Lysons' Topographical and Historical Account of Derbyshire, 1817, for Chesterfield, transcribed by Barbarann Ayars, includes a portion on Brimington.
Return to top of page
Military Records
- There is a photographs of the War Memorial in the church on the Wikipedia website. It includes some comments from the scuptor.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This place was an ancient Chapelry of Chesterfield in Derbyshire and became a modern Civil Parish in September, 1844.
- This parish was in the ancient Scarsdale Hundred (or Wapentake).