Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Butterley

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Butterley

Bibliography

  • SCHOFIELD, R. B. - Benjamin Outram. Merton Priory Press, 2001.  ISBN 1-898937-42-7.

Census

  • The hamlet was in the Ripley sub-district of the Belper Registration District.

  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:

Census
Year
Piece No.
1891 R.G. 12 / 2745

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Butterley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • There has been NO Anglican parish church or chapel in this hamlet.

Church Records

  • For parish registers, search the nearby parish of Ripley (the church on Butterley Hill road), Pentrich or Swanwic.

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

  • This place was never a separate Civil Parish, so records would be under Pentrich Civil Parish.

  • The hamlet was in the Ripley sub-district of the Belper Registration District.

Description and Travel

"BUTTERLEY is a hamlet, in the parish of Pentrich, and hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, 3 miles from Alfreton, and about 2 from Ripley; it contains but few houses, and derives its importance from being the site of the extensive iron-works of the Butterley Company, where, and at Codnor Park, the manufacture of iron is conducted upon a scale of immense magnitude: all the heavier articles in cast iron a produced at these works, including bridges, steam engines, various kinds of machinery, and water and gas pipes."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

You can see pictures of Butterley which are provided by:

Directories

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Butterley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The Midland (Heritage) Railway is located in Butterley and preserves some of the railway history of the region.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK404514 (Lat/Lon: 53.058312, -1.398656), Butterley which are provided by:

Military History

  • Sir James OUTRAM, a hero of the Indian Mutiny, was born at Butterley Hall in January, 1803.

Politics and Government

  • This hamlet was never a separate modern Civil Parish.

  • Although most of the hamlet was in Pentrich Civil Parish, some portions were in Ripley and some parts in Swanwick Civil Parishes.

  • This hamlet was in the ancient Morleston Hundred (or Wapentake).

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Alfreton petty session hearings.

  • As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms, the parish joined the Belper Poorlaw Union.