BUTTERLEY, Derbyshire
Bibliography
- Schofield, R B - Benjamin Outram. Merton Priory Press, 2001.
ISBN 1-898937-42-7.
Return to top of page
Census
- The hamlet was in the Ripley sub-district of the Belper Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2745 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- There has been NO Anglican parish church or chapel in this hamlet.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- For parish registers, search the nearby parish of Ripley (the church on Butterley Hill road), Pentrich or Swanwic.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- This place was never a separate Civil Parish, so records would be under Pentrich Civil Parish.
- The hamlet was in the Ripley sub-district of the Belper Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"BUTTERLEY is a hamlet, in the parish of Pentrich, and hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, 3 miles from Alfreton, and about 2 from Ripley; it contains but few houses, and derives its importance from being the site of the extensive iron-works of the Butterley Company, where, and at Codnor Park, the manufacture of iron is conducted upon a scale of immense magnitude: all the heavier articles in cast iron a produced at these works, including bridges, steam engines, various kinds of machinery, and water and gas pipes."
[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]
Return to top of page
Gazetteers
- The transcription of the section for Butterley from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
Return to top of page
History
- The Midland (Heritage) Railway is located in Butterley and preserves some of the railway history of the region.
Return to top of page
Military History
- Sir James OUTRAM, a hero of the Indian Mutiny, was born at Butterley Hall in January, 1803.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- This hamlet was never a separate modern Civil Parish.
- Although most of the hamlet was in Pentrich Civil Parish, some portions were in Ripley and some parts in Swanwick Civil Parishes.
- This hamlet was in the ancient Morleston Hundred (or Wapentake).