BYGONE INDUSTRIES OF THE PEAK: LACE MAKING
This is one of a series of articles published in
The Peak Advertiser, the Peak District's local free newspaper, on 14th February 2000 (p1 & p9), and
reproduced by kind permission of its author, Julie Bunting.
The series is now available as a fully-illustrated paperback, published in 2006
by
Wildtrack Publishing of Sheffield (ISBN 1-904098-01-0) See also this
Review by Alan Jacques.
BYGONE INDUSTRIES OF THE PEAK: LACE MAKING
Lace making was unknown in England until introduced by Flemish
and French immigrants in the late 16th century, yet by 1662
import restrictions had been introduced to protect this fledgling
industry.
Making lace by hand utilised narrow bobbins wound with threads,
kept taut to produce a pattern previously pricked out on a
tightly stuffed pillow. Bobbins were commonly made from bone or
wood. The intricate lace-making work lent itself mainly to women
and children, working in their own homes for dealers who sold
them the cotton thread and patterns, returning to buy the
finished pieces. Pay was poor but girls as young as eight often
worked ten-hour days. Yet by the time it reached the customer,
hand-made lace was expensive and beyond the means of all but the
most fashionable. Nevertheless, there was great demand from the
home market and a considerable export trade to America, at least
until the War of Independence.
Change came at end of the 18th century with attempts to mechanise
the manufacture of lace-net. Parallels were drawn with the way
the hosiery industry had been revolutionised by the
stocking-frame and in 1808 John Heathcoat of Duffield finally
patented the bobbin-net machine, using a twisted thread of cotton
to produce a lace comparative to the hand-made product. The
water-powered machinery was well suited to the factory system,
though attacks by Luddites prompted Heathcoat to move his own
factory from Loughborough to Tiverton. However, one of his two
partners established a successful factory at Derby which operated
until 1958.
The change from water power to steam power resulted in machines
up to 40 ft long, determining the design of long, multi-storey
factories. It took manual strength to operate factory machinery
and the work mainly devolved to men, with women and children
responsible for keeping them supplied with thread and pressing
the finished fabric. Machine-made lace quickly found favour
around the Midlands, especially at Nottingham, traditionally the
centre of hand-made lace. Boosted by an invention which enabled
patterns to be created, the industry expanded rapidly and workers
were numbered in their thousands. With lace now being made by the
length, an ever-growing demand for net curtaining accounted for
a high proportion of output. A few individual enterprises were
set up outside the major lace making centres; in 1840 two
Chesterfield men received a patent for 'Improvements in the
machinery used in manufacturing bobbin-net or lace'. Six years
later an inventor/manufacturer named John Walker Waterhouse was
presented with a silver medal by the Prince Consort for his
'Great lace-working machine at Chesterfield by which the finest
Mechlin lace is produced'. His wonderful machine performed almost
a quarter of a million movements to produce a fine patterned
lace, chosen by Queen Victoria to make Christening gowns for two
of the royal princesses.
Meanwhile a lace factory was in operation on the river Bradford
at Middleton near Youlgreave, almost certainly having a
connection with a bobbin mill in the same area. The occupation of
lace maker appears on census records of the mid-19th century. In
fact Middleton women had been making lace by hand for several
generations but the number of home workers fell with the
introduction of machinery. Some Account of Youlgreave,
Middleton and Alport (1931) states: 'The lace was made in
silk and cotton; in black, white and cream; in two qualities, the
very fine and coarse; this was made on a specially made frame.
The chief articles concerned were: Parasols, shawls, jackets, and
narrow lace. An average wage of about 10/- to 12/- a week could
be made, fine lace-making more than coarse. A parasol would make
6/-. One lace-maker of that period, being a skilled worker of
fine lace, entered in a Paris Exhibition and won a first prize of
2/-, whereas her sister gained something higher, winning a
special prize - that being a lace collar.'
Although nothing remains of Middleton lace mill itself, the dam
is still identifiable at the southern end of the Bradford,
skirted by a public footpath. Documentary evidence of a lace mill
at Two Dales is sparse but reminiscences of the late Mrs. Linda
Slack, a native of the village, revealed that lace was formerly
made at the Ladygrove mill now used by S. & E. Johnson Ltd. For
some ninety years prior to 1882 this had been a flax mill so any
change of use must have been after that date. Mrs. Slack's
grandmother was one of a hundred employees, some making lace but
others turning out items such as fur gloves, for which rabbit
skins were bought in. Both ventures were short-lived and lace
making in the Peak soon ended altogether, although fine cotton
lace thread continued to be manufactured at Edale Mills. The art
of bobbin lace, however, has been kept alive by a few enthusiasts
whose beautiful, intricate work always fascinates visitors to the
region's Craft Fairs.
© Julie Bunting
From "The Peak Advertiser", 14th February 2000.
© Copyright Julie Bunting, GENUKI and Contributors 1995-2008, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/DBY/BygoneIndustries/LaceMaking.html
[Created 8 May 2003. Last updated 24 Oct 2008 - 11:23 by Rosemary Lockie]