BYGONE INDUSTRIES OF THE PEAK: THE WOOL TRADES
This is one of a series of articles published in
The Peak Advertiser, the Peak District's local free newspaper, on 29th June 1998 (p7), and
reproduced by kind permission of its author, Julie Bunting.
The series is now available as a fully-illustrated paperback, published in 2006
by
Wildtrack Publishing of Sheffield (ISBN 1-904098-01-0) See also this
Review by Alan Jacques.
BYGONE INDUSTRIES OF THE PEAK: THE WOOL TRADES
The woollen industry, with all its many branches, has had a
profound influence in the Peak. To begin with the natural
landscape is well suited to large-scale sheep farming, which
began long before open fields were enclosed by our distinctive
drystone walls.
In medieval times vast sheep farming granges were established by
various monastic houses on the limestone uplands of the Peak,
providing an invaluable contribution to the country's woollen
industry and immense profits to their religious orders. (Monastic
Influence in the Peak, Peak Advertiser 3rd July 1995). One
early documentary source refers to the death in 1243 of 800 sheep
at Bradbourne, a chapelry of Dunstable Priory, and in 1295 the
Priory, 'due to the poverty of Bradbourne, granted to their
brothers, the canons resident, their wool and all other profits
except the tithes of Brassington for that year...'
In 1280 Dieu la Cresse Abbey, near Leek, was referred to by a
merchant of Florence as his wool supplier, annually producing
over 3 tons of wool. Nearby Wincle Grange, built a century later
by the Cistercians, is thought to have been a collection point
for wool awaiting export to the Continent. Cistercian monks also
developed a 400-acre sheep range at Roystone Grange, from where
wool was exported to Europe and beyond. Although the Black Death
of 1349 cut the number of monks and lay brothers by about a half,
the resulting labour shortages barely affected sheep farming
which continued to expand; by 1500 the country had three sheep to
every human being.
A fulling mill, where woollen cloth was cleansed and thickened,
was in use at Hartington as early as 1384 but wool spinning and
weaving was one of the earliest and most enduring cottage
industries. These twin occupations expanded rapidly in Hathersage
from the early 16th century, well supplied by vast flocks of
sheep on the surrounding moorlands. Peakland wool and woollen
goods were traded with centres in Yorkshire along a packhorse
route to Halifax Gate, a traffic of sufficient importance for
Halifax wool merchants to contribute £10 towards repairing
Leadmill Bridge at Hathersage.
A record from 1657 names Tenter Yard Croft at Hathersage, a
tenter being a large wooden frame on which woollen cloth was
stretched to dry, probably serving communal use. As the centre of
a thriving needle and pin making industry, Hathersage also
produced its own hackle pins, used for carding and combing wool.
Worsted spinning, giving a fine, smooth yarn from combed wool,
took place at Litton and Tideswell until at least 1830. A
Tideswell comb (woolcombers') shop was pulled down for
road-widening in 1841.
Wool combers actually had their own patron saint, St. Blasius or
Blaze, a Bishop martyred in AD 316 after suffering tortures with
iron combs. His festival was celebrated by textile workers at
Bradford and other Yorkshire towns and similarly in the Peak.
Employees from mills around Tideswell shared their annual
revelries at a local inn, referred to in contemporary records by
the name of its proprietor: '1795, Feb. 7, I was at B. Baker's
from 6 o'clock to about 12, with Mr. F. Baker and his
stockingers. They held Blaze today. Sam Slack was singing.'
Again: '1799, Feb.5, Shrove Tuesday, Mr. Francis Baker kept his
Bishop Blaze today at his mother-in-law's, Molly Baker. I went to
them about 4 o'clock and stay'd till betwixt 1 and 2 in the
morning.'
Other curious documentary sources relate to an Act of Parliament
passed in the reign of Charles II in an attempt to boost the
depressed English woollen trade. An initial act of 1666 decreed
that no-one was to be buried in any material but woollen, a law
reinforced with a second act which dictated that even the coffin
was to be lined with nothing but sheep's wool. Typical of entries
in a various parish registers is the following from Darley Dale:
'No corpse of any person (except those who shall die of the
plague) shall be buried in any shift, sheet, shroud, or anything
whatsoever made or mingled with any flax, hemp, silk, heir, gold
or silver, or in any stuff or thing other than what is made of
sheep's wool, only upon pain of the forfeiture of £5.'
Certificates had to be issued by the officiating clergyman, for
example:
'Mary Wild maketh Oath that Edward Frost, of Wardlow, in the
parish of Bakewell, and county of Derbe, lately decd., was not
buried in any material but what was made of sheep's wool only.
Swore before me, JOHN GODDARD. Curate of Wormhill.
Testd., Mary Goddard, Strellay Moresby.'
Parish registers commonly contain burial entries followed by
'buried in woollen' but some ladies simply would not be seen dead
in wool and left firm instructions otherwise, knowing that the £5
fine would be paid out of their estates. This sum was only a
trifle to Mistress Temperance Gell of Hopton Hall, foundress of
Carsington Endowed School, who was buried in a linen shroud when
she died in 1730. The Act was similarly evaded by three women
buried at Sheen in the late 17th-century while Longstone records
note the payment of a £5 fine by relatives of an actress buried
in a satin shroud in accordance with her wishes.
The 'burial in woollen' act was already widely disregarded by the
time it was repealed in 1815
MECHANISATION
Spinning and hand-knitting of stockings continued into the 19th
century both to keep the family in hose and for sale. Travelling
wool dealers, known as 'braggers', bought the raw material from
farmers and distributed it to domestic workers from whom they
then purchased the completed goods. Weaving gradually became a
more communal process; at Holme it occupied long stone sheds, now
converted to cottages. More usually, mechanisation of the textile
industries from the late 18th century took woollen manufacture
out of domestic production and into the factory system.
Factory machinery relied on water power and several early corn
mill sites in the north-western Peak District were taken over for
woollen mills. Gnathole Mill at Charlesworth was renowned for the
quality of its broad and narrow cloths, credited to the peaty
water used in the washing processes. There was also Phoside Mill
at Hayfield, Diggle Mill - one of several in the Saddleworth
area, and three sites at Holme now submerged by Digley Reservoir.
Hayfield mills used to send large quantities of wool and cloth by
packhorse train over the Pennines, by Woodhead and Holme Moss, to
be dyed at Holmfirth.
A hundred years ago Messrs. Lowe & Scholes of Tansley, fancy
shawl manufacturers, boasted a global reputation for their choice
woollen shawls but these were almost at the end of their
fashionable life. Since that time, wool itself has passed in and
out of favour as it has had to compete with synthetic materials,
yet we need look no further than the knitwear factory of John
Smedley at Lea Bridge to see that British woollens continue to
enjoy a world wide reputation. And flocks of sheep are still
inseparable from the Peak landscape, to be paid due homage later
this year at the centenary of Longshaw Sheepdog Trials, which we
hope to feature nearer the time.
© Julie Bunting
From "The Peak Advertiser", 29th June 1998.
© Copyright Julie Bunting, GENUKI and Contributors 1995-2008, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/DBY/BygoneIndustries/WoolTrades.html
[Created 8 May 2003. Last updated 10 Mar 2009 - 10:37 by Rosemary Lockie]