We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


Caution: There are several places named "Castleton" in the UK and at least one in Ontario, Canada.


  • CLARKE, Dr Liam - Castleton - A History, A Tour, People, Buildings and Industries. Owl Publishing, 2009. ISBN 978-0-9562437-0-6.


  • The parish was in the Chapel en le Frith sub-district of the Chapel en le Frith Registration District.

  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:

Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2546 & 2548
1891 R.G. 12 / 2780

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Edmund.

  • The church was partially restored circa 1837.

  • The church seats 250.

  • Wally HAINES has a photograph of Castleton Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2008.

  • John SALMON has a photograph of church interior on Geo-graph, taken in 1991.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1633.

  • We have a pop-up window of partially extracted Parish Register burials in a text file for your review. Your additions are welcomed.

  • The church was in the rural deanery of Eyam.

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

  • The parish was in the Chapel en le Frith sub-district of the Chapel en le Frith Registration District.

Description and Travel

"CASTLETON is a parish and village, in the hundred of High Peak. 164 miles from London, 27 S.E. from Manchester, 10 N.E. from Buxton, and 7 E. from Chapel-en-le-Frith. It is situate at the bottom of the steep eminence, at whose feet the 'Peak Cavern' discloses itself, and the summit of which is occupied by an ancient castle that gives name to the place. This castle was erected by William Peveril, natural son of the Conqueror, and from its situation was called 'the Castle of the Peak', or 'Peak Castle.'"


  • St Edmund, Castle Street, Church of England


  • St Edmund, Castle Street, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Castleton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Castleton which are provided by:



Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Castleton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • The Romans develped the lead mines here and extracted vast amounts of lead for the empire.


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK150829 (Lat/Lon: 53.342777, -1.776170), Castleton which are provided by:

Military History

  • The Castleton War Memorial Cross is a grade II listed structure with British Heritage.

  • There is a photograph of the parish War Memorial on Panoramio.

  • And Ron GALLIERS has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2004. The top is obscured by the tree.

  • Mick GARRATT also has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2011.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Derby and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.

  • Parish boundaries shrank by 7,000 acres between 1851 and 1881.

  • This parish was in the ancient High Peak Hundred (or Wapentake).

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Chape-en-le-Frith petty session hearings once each month.

  • As a result of the Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became a member of the Chapel en le Frith Poorlaw Union.


  Year  Inhabitants
1801 1,240
1831 1,329
1841 1,500
1871 678
1881 650
1891 541
1901 547

Social life and Customs

  • "Castleton should be given a wide berth on a Saturday or Sunday in the summer months. On those days it overflows with the tripper, for whom it lays itself out to provide, and the streets are apt to be uproarious until the last brakes have gone singing down the vale. Its main thoroughfares are commonplace, but the cottages on the higher level are picturesque and unspoilt. Castleton retains one interesting local custom, for May 29th, or Oakapple Day, is still honoured in a curious way. A great garland of wild flowers is made, shaped like a bell on a frame, and is carried round the town by a man on horseback, who wears it upon his head, covering his face. He plays Charles II; the part of the Queen who rides beside him is taken by a youth, dressed in a lady's riding habit and veil. Twenty girls dance the Morris dance before them as they ride through the town to the accompaniment of "plenty of brass bands". One can conceive the din! Then the garland is taken to the church and slung up by a pulley to the parapet of the tower, where it is left to wither. It is accounted a great honour to bear the garland, and the privilege has been exercised for the last twenty years."
    [Firth, J B - Highways and Byways in Derbyshire, 1905. Quoted in The Peak Advertiser, 19th May 2003; p.11]