We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



  • The parish was in the Hayfield sub-district of the Hayfield Registration District.

  • Be sure to check Marjorie Ward's website for Charlesworth 1841 census records.

  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:

Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2552
1891 R.G. 12 / 2785 & 3801

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint John the Evangelist.

  • The church was built in 1849 and the ecclesiastical parish formed that same year out of Glossop.

  • The church seats 480.

  • Alan FLEMING has a photograph of St John's Church on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2005.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1849. See Glossop for earlier registers.

  • The church was in the rural deanery of Glossop.

  • We have a pop-up window of a parital extract of the Independent Church burials into a text file for your review. Your additions are welcomed.

  • The Congregationalists took over the former Catholic chapel here by 1891. The had been founded here in 1709. It appears that they took over the Catholic burial yard as well. The chapel was called "Top Chapel".

  • The "Top Chapel" Monument Inscriptions have been transcribed by R. MANSFIELD in 1948 and published as "Charlesworth Independent Chapel...1778 - 1948".

  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel built in Chisworth in 1834.

  • The Particular Baptists had a chapel built on Glossop Road in 1835.

  • David DIXON has a photograph of the Particular Baptistt Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2011.

  • Be sure to check Marjorie Ward's website for Charlesworth church records.

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

  • The parish was in the Hayfield sub-district of the Hayfield Registration District.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Charlesworth which are provided by:
"CHARLESWORTH is a populous hamlet, about three miles south-west from Glossop, in that parish; it contains a place of worship for independent Calvinists, and a population (by the last returns) of 1,206 inhabitants, who are chiefly supported by the manufacturing interest."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

Charlesworth is a village, a township and a parish on the border of Cheshire, 200 miles north of London. Chisworth and Simmondley are townships in this parish.



Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Charlesworth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • The section of Lysons' Topographical and Historical Account of Derbyshire, 1817, for Glossop, transcribed by Barbarann Ayars, includes a portion on Charlesworth.

  • The George and Dragon Public House was a popular place for local news and gossip. It was run by Mrs. Ann HALLAS in 1899.


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK007928 (Lat/Lon: 53.431975, -1.990936), Charlesworth which are provided by:

Military History

  • Gerald ENGLAND has a photograph of the War Memorial at the end of Town Lane on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2009.

  • David DIXON has a photograph of the same War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2011. It is possible to make all the names on this photo.

  • In the churchyard of the Independent Chapel are 4 Commonwealth War Graves from World War I and 2 from World War Two.

Military Records

  • Carl has a photograph AND a list of names at Carl's Cam website.

The one World War I Commonwealth War Grave in St. John's churchyard is for:

  1. Samuel ROBINSON, priv., RAMC, age 34, died 10 Jan. 1919.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry in Glossop parish in Derby county but was incorporated as a separate modern Civil Parish in December, 1894.

  • This parish was in the ancient High Peak Hundred (or Wapentake).

  • In an April, 1934, boundary adjustment, this parish transferred 271 acres to Glossop Civil Parish.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Glossop petty session hearings.

  • As a result of the Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became a member of the Hayfield Poorlaw Union.