Nearby places
CRICH, Derbyshire
"CRICH is a parish, partly in the hundreds of Morleston and
Litchurch, Scarsdale, and Wirksworth: the village is about
five miles east of Wirksworth. and four west from Alfreton.
The site of it is very lofty, and from the adjacent
stand or prospect tower, which is a land-mark for a
great distance around, a very extensive view is obtained.
There are numerous stone quarries in the neighbourhood, and
lime burning is largely carried on here."
[There is further information for Crich]
[Description from
Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]
|
|
Early 20thC Map Click to view larger area.
|
|
- Dawes, J G (Geoff) - A History of Crich. Landmark, 2003.
Read more in this
Review of ‘A History of Crich’
(Peak Advertiser, 22nd September 2003)
- Dawes, Geoffrey - Crich Tales. Pipsqueak, 2004.
Read more in this
Review of ‘Crich Tales’ (not published in Peak Advertiser)
- Although not strictly related to Family History, the
Tramway Museum
at Crich is historically interesting. It is set amongst
spectacular limestone crags, on the site of an old quarry;
and those with a Lead Miner or two in their ancestry will
be aware that around them is old leadmining countryside.
Here is a photograph of one of the working exhibits -
Sheffield's Last Tram.
- Crich Web -
"Crich is a village on the edge of the Peak District in
the Borough of Amber Valley" - a modern look at Crich,
detailing facilities available today.
- Alan Flint has a growing site devoted to the
History of Crich, the village and its people.
The site includes extracts from the Crich parish registers,
entries from Bagshaw's and Glover's Directories, with more to come,
and is very well worth a visit.
- Crich Area Community News -
online version of the long-standing village magazine, which also
contains articles of historical interest, with a forum and dedicated
Family History section. Added 14 Jan 2007.

© Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2008, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/DBY/Crich/index.html
[Last updated 27 Oct 2008 - 10:48 by Rosemary Lockie]