The Derbyshire Ancestral
Research Group
(DARG)
Check here for a Catalogue of our holdings.
And here is a larger version of the above Map showing how to find our Library!
- We are an informal group without any official membership,
elected officers or affiliations to any other organisation.
- The group comprises enthusiasts mainly in the fields of
family history and local history and is involved in recording
monumental inscriptions in churches, churchyards and
cemeteries throughout Derbyshire, with occasional visits over
the county border.
- During the winter months effort is transferred to the
transcribing of parish registers and other archival records
held at the County Record Office, Matlock. These are checked
and indexed during' workshop' meetings held in the group's
headquarters in Alfreton.
- Our new (June 1999) premises are at:-
BIRCHWOOD METHODIST CHAPEL,
BIRCHWOOD LANE,
SOMERCOTES,
Near ALFRETON.
Check here for a MAP.
Visitors are very welcome to attend any of our meetings, and may
search in our ever-growing library.
- Workshop meetings are held every Wednesday,
from 09:30a.m. to 1:00p.m, at Birchwood Methodist Chapel.
- Those people who are able to visit our Library will be made most
welcome. The number of people visiting and returning week after week
is still growing. It is very pleasing to note that people do return
simply to help with the indexing and filing when they have seen what a
happy and industrious group we are. Several people have made family
contacts through visiting the Library and meeting others researching the
same family lines or being put in touch with other researchers through
the use of our files.
- DARG's records are not for sale, nor available on computer,
but we are very happy to answer enquiries by post - we have a wealth of
experience and expertise which we are willing to share. No charges are
levied, but donations are always welcome, either from fellow enthusiasts,
or from those who benefit from our services.
Please write to Winifred Waterall, 86 High Street, Loscoe,
Heanor, Derbyshire DE75 7LF, UK.
Postal enquiries MUST be
accompanied by a stamped self addressed envelope, or in the case of overseas
enquiries by two International Reply Coupons. We do not make a charge for our
services but a donation towards our funds will be very much appreciated. We are
unable to accept foreign cheques, so donations from overseas must be in sterling.
Please make cheques payable to "Derbyshire Ancestral Research Group"
(DARG is not acceptable at our Bank) - thank you.
For telephone enquiries on Library holdings please call Margaret Brooksbank,
telephone 01773 604916.
Finally please note that our offer of searches is restricted to our own transcripts
and other material in our own Library (as listed on these pages). It does NOT
extend to collections elsewhere. Added 5 Oct 2006.
Information web-set by Rosemary Lockie. Please note I have
no connection with DARG other than being a satisfied beneficiary of the services
they offer. A catalogue of their holdings
is made available with permission.
Return to top of page
© Copyright Derbyshire Ancestral Research Group, GENUKI and Contributors 1999-2009, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/DBY/DARG/index.html
[Created 23 Jun 1999. Last updated 8 Oct 2009 - 09:27 by Rosemary Lockie]